I am looking into the College of Sword Bard and i saw that they can use their weapon (if they are proficient with it) as a spell casting focus, which means that if they dual wield, they do not need an extra hand for material components. But what happens with the somatic components? Do they need warcaster or sheathe a weapon to cast the somatic part of the spell or are they allowed to cast while dual wielding?
You can use the hand holding your implement to perform the somatic component. The problem is, if the spell does not have a /material/ component, by rule, you have to sheathe your weapon. Please do not shoot the messenger, it's stupid, but that's how it works. That's been confirmed by Crawford.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Thanks for the reply. Can I sheathe only one weapon to perfom a V,S spell or both weapons? Because if so, I can use my free action to sheathe 1 weapon cast a spells, finish my turn and on the start of my next turn I can unsheathe the weapon as my free action and attack while dual wielding.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello,
I am looking into the College of Sword Bard and i saw that they can use their weapon (if they are proficient with it) as a spell casting focus, which means that if they dual wield, they do not need an extra hand for material components. But what happens with the somatic components? Do they need warcaster or sheathe a weapon to cast the somatic part of the spell or are they allowed to cast while dual wielding?
Thanks in advance.
You can use the hand holding your implement to perform the somatic component. The problem is, if the spell does not have a /material/ component, by rule, you have to sheathe your weapon. Please do not shoot the messenger, it's stupid, but that's how it works. That's been confirmed by Crawford.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
Thanks for the reply. Can I sheathe only one weapon to perfom a V,S spell or both weapons? Because if so, I can use my free action to sheathe 1 weapon cast a spells, finish my turn and on the start of my next turn I can unsheathe the weapon as my free action and attack while dual wielding.
I am pretty sure that is legit.
In fact, without the DW feat you wouldn't be able to sheathe more than one weapon at a time I believe.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha