If a level 17+ Death Domain Cleric casts False Life on him/herself, could the temporary hit points also be added to another creature within 5 feet of the Cleric?
Improved Reaper
Starting at 17th level, when the cleric casts a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other. If the spell consumes its material components, the cleric must provide them for each target.
False Life targets only one creature (self), and Improved Reaper does not exempt spells with a target of self. So I would say yes?
If a level 17+ Death Domain Cleric casts False Life on him/herself, could the temporary hit points also be added to another creature within 5 feet of the Cleric?
Improved Reaper
Starting at 17th level, when the cleric casts a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other. If the spell consumes its material components, the cleric must provide them for each target.
False Life targets only one creature (self), and Improved Reaper does not exempt spells with a target of self. So I would say yes?
It says two creatures "within range" and the range is self. So you can be the only creature within range, so it wouldn't work, is what I'd rule.
That said, giving an ally 5-8 temp hp for an hour at level 17 wouldn't exactly be game breaking.