I have been searching for answers and haven't found official answers to what I am asking. I have a Life Cleric. We have a rogue who does hit and most of the time performs a successful stealth, making it hard to heal her with line of sight spells. In the same way, we had a character get swallowed by a giant creature. Reading the description, CD:PL is a class ability, not a spell. It also makes no mention of line of sight, just within 30'.
Does CD: PL ignore cover and line of sight? Would it heal the hidden [from the caster] character and would it heal a swallowed character.
The stipulations of the spell simply state "any creatures within 30 feet of you" with no mention of "that you can see". By a straight RAW reading, you could use this to heal someone hiding, someone inside a dragon, or if you are completely blinded.
Now, your DM might rule that you must see them to select them, which is perfectly valid, but not strictly RAW.
Not quite. At least not the inside a dragon part.
A Clear Path to the Target
To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
Inside something is definitely behind total cover. But I would allow it to work on someone hiding, so long as they weren’t behind a wall or otherwise behind total cover, and the other requirements were met, for example, not taking the rogue above half hp.
Because it doesn’t say anything about targeting, you default to the general rule. And. 30’ radius that can target multiple creatures is absolutely an area effect.
I have been searching for answers and haven't found official answers to what I am asking. I have a Life Cleric. We have a rogue who does hit and most of the time performs a successful stealth, making it hard to heal her with line of sight spells. In the same way, we had a character get swallowed by a giant creature. Reading the description, CD:PL is a class ability, not a spell. It also makes no mention of line of sight, just within 30'.
Does CD: PL ignore cover and line of sight? Would it heal the hidden [from the caster] character and would it heal a swallowed character.
Thank you for your time. :)
Not quite. At least not the inside a dragon part.
A Clear Path to the Target
To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can't be behind total cover. If you place an area of effect at a point that you can't see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.
Inside something is definitely behind total cover. But I would allow it to work on someone hiding, so long as they weren’t behind a wall or otherwise behind total cover, and the other requirements were met, for example, not taking the rogue above half hp.
Because it doesn’t say anything about targeting, you default to the general rule.
And. 30’ radius that can target multiple creatures is absolutely an area effect.
The real gray area to me is this isn’t a spell,