You can use your Channel Divinity to refresh your allies with soothing twilight.
As an action, you present your holy symbol, and a sphere of twilight emanates from you. The sphere is centered on you, has a 30-foot radius, and is filled with dim light. The sphere moves with you, and it lasts for 1 minute or until you are incapacitated or die. Whenever a creature (including you) ends its turn in the sphere, you can grant that creature one of these benefits:
You grant it temporary hit points equal to 1d6 plus your cleric level.
Looking at the first highlight, since Channel Divinity is magical then it should be able to illuminate the darkness. But Jeremy Crawford say's that Channel Divinity isn't a spell. However.
The dim light created by a Sphere Of Twilight Sanctuaryshould illuminate a Darknessspell, because it is not a nonmagical light nor a light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower.
Twilight Sanctuary does not say it is magical light and that is the general rule. Spells are all magical, but abilities are generally not considered magical unless they explicitly say they are.
Thank You for responding. I do agree that the darkness would be dispelled due to this ability. The creature in question is a Black Dragon Abashai.
This is a weird interaction.
Creeping Darkness (Recharge 6). The abishai casts darkness at a point within 120 feet of it, requiring no spell components or concentration. Wisdom is its spellcasting ability for this spell. While the spell persists, the abishai can move the area of darkness up to 60 feet as a bonus action.
Since only nonmagical light can't illuminate Darkness and that Channel Divinity: Twilight Sanctuary is a magical effect that create light, it should illuminate Darkness where their areas overlap but not dispel it completely like a Daylight spell would do for exemple. A take also shared by the Dev on Twitter
@JeremyECrawford Shedding some light on a previous tweet … Light from any magical source can illuminate the area of a darkness spell, but the darkness spell can dispel light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, not light created by a non-spell.
Thank You for responding. I do agree that the darkness would be dispelled due to this ability.
Nope. Plaguescarred is correct. The CD isn't a spell, so the text in the Darkness spell that causes it to dispel itself won't trigger. All the light will do is successfully illuminate the darkness.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am running a creature that uses Darkness spell to fill area with magical darkness, but the twilight clerics domain ability
Twilight Sanctuary seems to counter it. Is this True?
2nd-level Twilight Domain feature
You can use your Channel Divinity to refresh your allies with soothing twilight.
As an action, you present your holy symbol, and a sphere of twilight emanates from you. The sphere is centered on you, has a 30-foot radius, and is filled with dim light. The sphere moves with you, and it lasts for 1 minute or until you are incapacitated or die. Whenever a creature (including you) ends its turn in the sphere, you can grant that creature one of these benefits:
Looking at the first highlight, since Channel Divinity is magical then it should be able to illuminate the darkness. But Jeremy Crawford say's that Channel Divinity isn't a spell. However.
The dim light created by a Sphere Of Twilight Sanctuary should illuminate a Darkness spell, because it is not a nonmagical light nor a light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower.
So Yes.
It is a judgement call, but I would say no.
Twilight Sanctuary does not say it is magical light and that is the general rule. Spells are all magical, but abilities are generally not considered magical unless they explicitly say they are.
Thank You for responding. I do agree that the darkness would be dispelled due to this ability. The creature in question is a Black Dragon Abashai.
This is a weird interaction.
Creeping Darkness (Recharge 6). The abishai casts darkness at a point within 120 feet of it, requiring no spell components or concentration. Wisdom is its spellcasting ability for this spell. While the spell persists, the abishai can move the area of darkness up to 60 feet as a bonus action.
Since only nonmagical light can't illuminate Darkness and that Channel Divinity: Twilight Sanctuary is a magical effect that create light, it should illuminate Darkness where their areas overlap but not dispel it completely like a Daylight spell would do for exemple. A take also shared by the Dev on Twitter
Nope. Plaguescarred is correct. The CD isn't a spell, so the text in the Darkness spell that causes it to dispel itself won't trigger. All the light will do is successfully illuminate the darkness.