Does magic circle work on a giant ape or t-rex summoned by conjure fey spell? In conjure fey description it says the creature summoned is a "fey spirit that takes on the form of a beast" so technically its a fey and not truly a beast. Right? Magic circle would work on a fey, but not on a beast.
Also, in conjure fey description it says "An uncontrolled fey creature can't be dismissed by you, and it disappears 1 hour after you summoned it."
So, If you were to use metamagic adept feat with extend spell, the duration of the summons lasts two hours but does the creature still leave after one hour? Or would it stay for two hours to match the duration of the spell?
Here is my reason around this line of questioning. My character is a moon druid. With the help of another caster in my party who can upcast magic circle i am looking to use the metamagic adept feat with extend spell to keep the giant ape or t-rex around long enough to use planar binding and build an army of mammoths, giant apes and t-rexes. Ooooh the destruction.....
If you used metamagic, I would rule that could concentrate for 2 hours, but if you lost control the fey would disappear an hour after being summoned. Logic being that you no longer influence a spell that you aren't concentrating on. As such, the fey would disappear 1 round before you finished casting.
If you used metamagic, I would rule that could concentrate for 2 hours, but if you lost control the fey would disappear an hour after being summoned. Logic being that you no longer influence a spell that you aren't concentrating on. As such, the fey would disappear 1 round before you finished casting.
Thank you. This is helpful.
So it could still work just not in the way i had intended.
Step 1) caster A upcasts magic circle for longer duration
Step 2) caster B (me) conjures fey and extends spell duration to 2 hours. As long as i maintain concentration there is sufficient time for step 3.
Step 3) Since magic circle is non concentration, caster A then casts planar binding. The giant ape or whatever is summoned is then bound to the service of Caster A for the duration.
Sound right?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does magic circle work on a giant ape or t-rex summoned by conjure fey spell? In conjure fey description it says the creature summoned is a "fey spirit that takes on the form of a beast" so technically its a fey and not truly a beast. Right? Magic circle would work on a fey, but not on a beast.
Also, in conjure fey description it says "An uncontrolled fey creature can't be dismissed by you, and it disappears 1 hour after you summoned it."
So, If you were to use metamagic adept feat with extend spell, the duration of the summons lasts two hours but does the creature still leave after one hour? Or would it stay for two hours to match the duration of the spell?
Here is my reason around this line of questioning. My character is a moon druid. With the help of another caster in my party who can upcast magic circle i am looking to use the metamagic adept feat with extend spell to keep the giant ape or t-rex around long enough to use planar binding and build an army of mammoths, giant apes and t-rexes. Ooooh the destruction.....
Dos this combo work or not?
Thanks.
Taking this a step at a time:
Yes, the conjured creature is a fey.
Yes, magic circle could restrain them.
If you used metamagic, I would rule that could concentrate for 2 hours, but if you lost control the fey would disappear an hour after being summoned. Logic being that you no longer influence a spell that you aren't concentrating on. As such, the fey would disappear 1 round before you finished casting.
Thank you. This is helpful.
So it could still work just not in the way i had intended.
Step 1) caster A upcasts magic circle for longer duration
Step 2) caster B (me) conjures fey and extends spell duration to 2 hours. As long as i maintain concentration there is sufficient time for step 3.
Step 3) Since magic circle is non concentration, caster A then casts planar binding. The giant ape or whatever is summoned is then bound to the service of Caster A for the duration.
Sound right?