it specifically says that you are allowed to use any class or race traits and features that do not rely on your physical capabilities. According to this reading, and since hidden step is magical, I’d say that you should be able to use it in wild shape.
So, during a combat with Skeletons, I announced that I would use hidden step while I was also in wild shape form.
My DM initially said I couldn't, so we looked through the rules and couldn't find anything that disallowed it. So he relented and let me use it.
It's not my intention to break the rules, but I'm not going to hold back on an ability combo if I don't have to.
So, my question is can I do this or does it specifically say in the rules that it isn't allowed.
it specifically says that you are allowed to use any class or race traits and features that do not rely on your physical capabilities. According to this reading, and since hidden step is magical, I’d say that you should be able to use it in wild shape.
Wild shape allows you to use all of your racial features while wild-shaped, so yes. Using Hidden Step as a bear is completely legal.
*You retain them all, "and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so."
Thanks Guys!