New Druid - and he has a cantrip for produce flame listed as a bonus action. Can I use this as a bonus attack action, or just create light?
SO, can I use a different spell as the action (say Ice Knife), and then use produce flame as a bonus attack?
Thanks!
No, you can't. Casting Produce Flame uses a bonus action, but attacking with the fire you're now holding uses a full action (specifically, a Magic action).
This is stated explicitly in the spell description, which says "Until the spell ends, you can take a Magic action to hurl fire at a creature or an object within 60 feet of you."
This is assuming we're talking about the 2024 version of the spell. The 2014 version worked a little differently; it was cast as a full action but you could attack with it as part of that same action.
Something else to keep in mind: you can't cast spells while you're using Wild Shape, but you can cast a spell before going into Wild Shape and maintain its effects. This means that if you cast Produce Flame before going into Wild Shape, you can still use your action to throw the fire as an attack while in beast form.
New Druid - and he has a cantrip for produce flame listed as a bonus action. Can I use this as a bonus attack action, or just create light?
SO, can I use a different spell as the action (say Ice Knife), and then use produce flame as a bonus attack?
Thanks!
No, you can't. Casting Produce Flame uses a bonus action, but attacking with the fire you're now holding uses a full action (specifically, a Magic action).
This is stated explicitly in the spell description, which says "Until the spell ends, you can take a Magic action to hurl fire at a creature or an object within 60 feet of you."
This is assuming we're talking about the 2024 version of the spell. The 2014 version worked a little differently; it was cast as a full action but you could attack with it as part of that same action.
pronouns: he/she/they
That’s what we thought. Thank you!
No problem!
Something else to keep in mind: you can't cast spells while you're using Wild Shape, but you can cast a spell before going into Wild Shape and maintain its effects. This means that if you cast Produce Flame before going into Wild Shape, you can still use your action to throw the fire as an attack while in beast form.
pronouns: he/she/they
Well depending on what beast form you’re in, is how I would rule it.
That is certainly your prerogative, though RAW it does not matter what beast form you're in.
pronouns: he/she/they