the language of the shapechange spell reads "..You must have seen the sort of creature before, and it can't be a Construct or an Undead."
my questions is: if a player has seen a dragon of a certain age, say young, can they then shapechange into that dragon at a different age?
bonus question: if a player uses shapechange to change into a creature, and another player sees them, does that count as having seen one to then have that second player also shapechange into it as well?
I don't think either of these questions have a clearly defined answer in the rules.
If I were DMing, I would probably say yes to both, just on the grounds that it's more fun that way. Though keep in mind, with the first one, that the CR limit still applies — for instance, seeing a Young Red Dragon wouldn't allow you to shapechange into an Ancient Red Dragon because its CR is too high.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
the language of the shapechange spell reads "..You must have seen the sort of creature before, and it can't be a Construct or an Undead."
my questions is: if a player has seen a dragon of a certain age, say young, can they then shapechange into that dragon at a different age?
bonus question: if a player uses shapechange to change into a creature, and another player sees them, does that count as having seen one to then have that second player also shapechange into it as well?
I don't think either of these questions have a clearly defined answer in the rules.
If I were DMing, I would probably say yes to both, just on the grounds that it's more fun that way. Though keep in mind, with the first one, that the CR limit still applies — for instance, seeing a Young Red Dragon wouldn't allow you to shapechange into an Ancient Red Dragon because its CR is too high.
pronouns: he/she/they