The 'Shapechange' spell allows the caster to turn into a creature with a CR equal to character level, so long as they are not undead or a construct. So, technically speaking, this means that a lvl 20 spellcaster can turn into a Leviathan.
So here's the idea: When facing a mighty Kraken (or other sea monster), could Shapechanging into a Leviathan turn the tide in your favor?
I'm currently playing as a Water Genasi Druid of the Coast, and I feel this could be a really fun way to win a final battle.
As long as you abide by the “and you must have seen the sort of creature at least once.” rule, sure, you can change into anything, as long as you include that part.
As Hale said, yes, you must have seen it to turn into it. But there are always other creatures you can choose besides the leviathan that might show up more often. Of course it depends on the campaign and the characters, and a leviathan is fitting for you, a water genasi druid of the coast. When I was playing with a moon druid, high elf, I used my shapechange to turn into a pit fiend (CR 20) to combat the ancient red dragon, which ended up intimidating the red dragon so much it called in it's family and we got messed up.
Anyway- Make sure you think of your options before you commit to the leviathan. It could create some pretty distinct memories.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I love roleplaying, message me so we can set something up.
I talk everything D&D, message me for questions, chat, arguements, or roleplay!
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The 'Shapechange' spell allows the caster to turn into a creature with a CR equal to character level, so long as they are not undead or a construct. So, technically speaking, this means that a lvl 20 spellcaster can turn into a Leviathan.
So here's the idea: When facing a mighty Kraken (or other sea monster), could Shapechanging into a Leviathan turn the tide in your favor?
I'm currently playing as a Water Genasi Druid of the Coast, and I feel this could be a really fun way to win a final battle.
As long as you abide by the “and you must have seen the sort of creature at least once.” rule, sure, you can change into anything, as long as you include that part.
As Hale said, yes, you must have seen it to turn into it. But there are always other creatures you can choose besides the leviathan that might show up more often. Of course it depends on the campaign and the characters, and a leviathan is fitting for you, a water genasi druid of the coast. When I was playing with a moon druid, high elf, I used my shapechange to turn into a pit fiend (CR 20) to combat the ancient red dragon, which ended up intimidating the red dragon so much it called in it's family and we got messed up.
Anyway- Make sure you think of your options before you commit to the leviathan. It could create some pretty distinct memories.
I love roleplaying, message me so we can set something up.
I talk everything D&D, message me for questions, chat, arguements, or roleplay!