Given that Runes can be applied to Armor and Shields, can a Rune Knight apply the same Rune to each item?
I understand that you can only have one effect active and they do not add to each other. But the runes have activation effects that have a duration.
So, what are the rules on having a Hill Rune on your armor, and a Hill Rune on your shield. Battle #1, you activate your armor Rune and get your damage resistance. You win the fight because you are awesome, time goes by and another battle starts... (before a short or long rest). Can you now activate the Hill Rune on your shield and now gain that activated effect again?
I know that the base effect should not be doubled, but the activated effect is what I am wondering about. Everywhere I have read keeps saying you can't benefit from two runes of the same type, yet they do not take into account this scenario, where the benefit of the activation is not adding to the previous instance of it.
“Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a number of objects equal to the number of runes you know, and you inscribe a different rune onto each of the objects.”
I’d rule no, noting the bolded part above. Since it has to be a different rune on each object, it can not be the same rune on two different objects.
“Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a number of objects equal to the number of runes you know, and you inscribe a different rune onto each of the objects.”
I’d rule no, noting the bolded part above. Since it has to be a different rune on each object, it can not be the same rune on two different objects.
Yep its right in the rules for inscribing rules plain as day that you can't inscribe the same rune twice..
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Given that Runes can be applied to Armor and Shields, can a Rune Knight apply the same Rune to each item?
I understand that you can only have one effect active and they do not add to each other. But the runes have activation effects that have a duration.
So, what are the rules on having a Hill Rune on your armor, and a Hill Rune on your shield. Battle #1, you activate your armor Rune and get your damage resistance. You win the fight because you are awesome, time goes by and another battle starts... (before a short or long rest). Can you now activate the Hill Rune on your shield and now gain that activated effect again?
I know that the base effect should not be doubled, but the activated effect is what I am wondering about. Everywhere I have read keeps saying you can't benefit from two runes of the same type, yet they do not take into account this scenario, where the benefit of the activation is not adding to the previous instance of it.
Thanks
“Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a number of objects equal to the number of runes you know, and you inscribe a different rune onto each of the objects.”
I’d rule no, noting the bolded part above. Since it has to be a different rune on each object, it can not be the same rune on two different objects.
Yep its right in the rules for inscribing rules plain as day that you can't inscribe the same rune twice..