Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage. The extra damage is 2d8 for a 1st-level spell slot, plus 1d8 for each spell level higher than 1st, to a maximum of 5d8. The damage increases by 1d8 if the target is an undead or a fiend, to a maximum of 6d8.
In here we have the 2 qualifiers required by smite:
"Hit with a melee weapon attack"
"In addition to the weapon’s damage."
So as stated before by others officially because unarmed strikes are not weapons but count as melee weapon attacks they cannot be used for smite.
So any race that gives a "natural weapon" like the Tabaxi, Minotaur, Lizardman, ect. Gives you a "natural weapon" you can use as an unarmed strike. Since it is an unarmed strike, it cannot be used for smite.
To my understanding all monsters/beasts that use their natural weapons, like the bite attack are melee weapon attacks. And since the unarmed strike as described in the PHB is a PC only thing, the bite attack counts as a weapon for the monster.
So if a paladin is polymorphed into a beast/monster are they then able to use those natural weapons for their Divine smite?
And as stated above, Divine smite requires you expend a spell slot, not cast a spell.
So any race that gives a "natural weapon" like the Tabaxi, Minotaur, Lizardman, ect. Gives you a "natural weapon" you can use as an unarmed strike. Since it is an unarmed strike, it cannot be used for smite.
This is incorrect. Unarmed strikes normally don't use weapons but if the rules say you can make an unarmed strike with a specific natural weapon then by definition you're using a weapon.
To my understanding all monsters/beasts that use their natural weapons, like the bite attack are melee weapon attacks. And since the unarmed strike as described in the PHB is a PC only thing, the bite attack counts as a weapon for the monster.
Monsters can make unarmed strikes too. It's not included in their stat block because they usually don't need it and because it's an option common to all creatures. Actions like Dodge and Disengage aren't listed on their stat block for the same reason.
So if a paladin is polymorphed into a beast/monster are they then able to use those natural weapons for their Divine smite?
Most features that would transform a paladin into something else would replace their statistics and remove their class features. The main exception is the Druid's Wild Shape. So if you happen to multiclass and have spell slots handy, then sure, nothing stops you from smiting with natural weapons. But you could do that without Wild Shape anyways if your race has a natural weapon.
So in conclusion: Natural Weapons you have DO qualify for smite, polymorph doesn't let you keep class features so no smite, but wild shape let's you keep class features so yes smite.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Divine Smite
Starting at 2nd level, when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack, you can expend one spell slot to deal radiant damage to the target, in addition to the weapon’s damage. The extra damage is 2d8 for a 1st-level spell slot, plus 1d8 for each spell level higher than 1st, to a maximum of 5d8. The damage increases by 1d8 if the target is an undead or a fiend, to a maximum of 6d8.
In here we have the 2 qualifiers required by smite:
"Hit with a melee weapon attack"
"In addition to the weapon’s damage."
So as stated before by others officially because unarmed strikes are not weapons but count as melee weapon attacks they cannot be used for smite.
So any race that gives a "natural weapon" like the Tabaxi, Minotaur, Lizardman, ect. Gives you a "natural weapon" you can use as an unarmed strike. Since it is an unarmed strike, it cannot be used for smite.
To my understanding all monsters/beasts that use their natural weapons, like the bite attack are melee weapon attacks. And since the unarmed strike as described in the PHB is a PC only thing, the bite attack counts as a weapon for the monster.
So if a paladin is polymorphed into a beast/monster are they then able to use those natural weapons for their Divine smite?
And as stated above, Divine smite requires you expend a spell slot, not cast a spell.
This is incorrect. Unarmed strikes normally don't use weapons but if the rules say you can make an unarmed strike with a specific natural weapon then by definition you're using a weapon.
Monsters can make unarmed strikes too. It's not included in their stat block because they usually don't need it and because it's an option common to all creatures. Actions like Dodge and Disengage aren't listed on their stat block for the same reason.
Most features that would transform a paladin into something else would replace their statistics and remove their class features. The main exception is the Druid's Wild Shape. So if you happen to multiclass and have spell slots handy, then sure, nothing stops you from smiting with natural weapons. But you could do that without Wild Shape anyways if your race has a natural weapon.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
So in conclusion: Natural Weapons you have DO qualify for smite, polymorph doesn't let you keep class features so no smite, but wild shape let's you keep class features so yes smite.