I'm studying up on the drakewarden-subclass and getting ready to play one next week. While I was reading about how the summoning of your drake companion works, an idea came to me: if your drake is currently with you, could you resummon it to effectively teleport it? Examples that come to mind are teleporting it to the other side of a locked door or through an impenetrable forcefield or up on a ledge if it can't fly yet. It can't transport anything with it, but I think there could be some potential utility in the idea.
The rules say it appears in an unoccupied space of your choice within 30 feet, so there doesn't seem to be any visibility requirements, only that you are aware that there's enough space for the drake to appear.
Ps. Sorry in advance if there's already an answer to this but I couldn't find it.
Seems like it would work. It would cost a spell slot, but could work. Though, as you say, it might not be very useful. It doesn’t have hands to do fine motor work like unlock a door, for example. But maybe it could lift a bar, or push a button with its snout. Definitely it could get it up to a ledge.
You can absolutely re-summon an existing Drake Companion as a way to move them(or to change their element type, bring them back to full health, etc). It's just like with Find Familiar. The new one appears and the old one vanishes. And yeah, it looks like there's no "that you can see" tack-on to the summoning range, so yeah I see no reason why your examples wouldn't work. The cost is high enough(using your one free daily use or burning a spell slot) that I don't think it's unbalanced in any way. I don't think I've done that with my current Drakewarden, but he can fly now so I've less of a need :)
I have a LOT of fun with my Drakewarden, I hope you do too!
Thanks for the answers, good thing I've understood this correctly. I agree, it is a rare occurrence when it might be useful and the cost for the "teleport" is high enough so you can't abuse it, even if it comes with the elemental change and fully healing your drake, but on the other hand the drake is fairly intelligent and pretty strong. We'll see if it ever comes up, but I'm going to clarify this with my DM, as you suggested.
And yes, I'm already having a blast with the drakewarden, even though we've only played one session so far.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Quick rule question:
I'm studying up on the drakewarden-subclass and getting ready to play one next week. While I was reading about how the summoning of your drake companion works, an idea came to me: if your drake is currently with you, could you resummon it to effectively teleport it? Examples that come to mind are teleporting it to the other side of a locked door or through an impenetrable forcefield or up on a ledge if it can't fly yet. It can't transport anything with it, but I think there could be some potential utility in the idea.
The rules say it appears in an unoccupied space of your choice within 30 feet, so there doesn't seem to be any visibility requirements, only that you are aware that there's enough space for the drake to appear.
Ps. Sorry in advance if there's already an answer to this but I couldn't find it.
Seems like it would work. It would cost a spell slot, but could work.
Though, as you say, it might not be very useful. It doesn’t have hands to do fine motor work like unlock a door, for example. But maybe it could lift a bar, or push a button with its snout.
Definitely it could get it up to a ledge.
So, if it were me, I’d allow it, but ask your DM.
You can absolutely re-summon an existing Drake Companion as a way to move them(or to change their element type, bring them back to full health, etc). It's just like with Find Familiar. The new one appears and the old one vanishes. And yeah, it looks like there's no "that you can see" tack-on to the summoning range, so yeah I see no reason why your examples wouldn't work. The cost is high enough(using your one free daily use or burning a spell slot) that I don't think it's unbalanced in any way. I don't think I've done that with my current Drakewarden, but he can fly now so I've less of a need :)
I have a LOT of fun with my Drakewarden, I hope you do too!
Thanks for the answers, good thing I've understood this correctly. I agree, it is a rare occurrence when it might be useful and the cost for the "teleport" is high enough so you can't abuse it, even if it comes with the elemental change and fully healing your drake, but on the other hand the drake is fairly intelligent and pretty strong. We'll see if it ever comes up, but I'm going to clarify this with my DM, as you suggested.
And yes, I'm already having a blast with the drakewarden, even though we've only played one session so far.