i'm new to this forum so i'm sorry if this question has already be answered, but i can't find anything specific.
i have a question about Sneak Attack. The rules said: "Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an Attack if you have advantage on the Attack roll. The Attack must use a Finesse or a ranged weapon". So, if i thrown a dagger can i use the sneak attack?
i make an attack with a finesse weapon, it doesn't say that i have to make a melee attack with the melee weapon.
i'm new to this forum so i'm sorry if this question has already be answered, but i can't find anything specific.
i have a question about Sneak Attack. The rules said: "Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an Attack if you have advantage on the Attack roll. The Attack must use a Finesse or a ranged weapon". So, if i thrown a knife can i use the sneak attack?
i make an attack with a finesse weapon, it doesn't say that i have to make a melee attack with the melee weapon.
Thank you.
You can apply Sneak Attack to any melee or ranged attack with finesse or ranged weapon like a dagger, and presumably a knife too
To clarify, Dagger works because it is a Finesse weapon that so happens to have a throw property as well... as it technically is not a Ranged Weapon. A dart is ranged weapon that is thrown, so it also works with Sneak Attack
Now, a Javelin or HandAx, are simple melee weapons with a throw property that allows them to be used at range... but both of these weapons are NEITHER Ranged Weapon or a Finesse weapon, so you could not make a Sneak Attack with these weapons.
The wording is specifically "The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon." Not ranged attack
Hello,
i'm new to this forum so i'm sorry if this question has already be answered, but i can't find anything specific.
i have a question about Sneak Attack. The rules said: "Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an Attack if you have advantage on the Attack roll. The Attack must use a Finesse or a ranged weapon". So, if i thrown a dagger can i use the sneak attack?
i make an attack with a finesse weapon, it doesn't say that i have to make a melee attack with the melee weapon.
Thank you.
You can apply Sneak Attack to any melee or ranged attack with finesse or ranged weapon like a dagger, and presumably a knife too
Sorry for the mistake, i mean dagger not knife :)
Thank you for your answer!
To clarify, Dagger works because it is a Finesse weapon that so happens to have a throw property as well... as it technically is not a Ranged Weapon. A dart is ranged weapon that is thrown, so it also works with Sneak Attack
Now, a Javelin or HandAx, are simple melee weapons with a throw property that allows them to be used at range... but both of these weapons are NEITHER Ranged Weapon or a Finesse weapon, so you could not make a Sneak Attack with these weapons.
The wording is specifically "The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon." Not ranged attack
Hope that clarifies.