I believe the answer to your main question is yes; it seems a little odd but there doesn't appear to be anything in the Metamagic feature that says anything against it. It says "You can use the chosen [metamagic] options to temporarily modify spells you cast". It doesn't say anything else about what kind of spells they can be or how you can be casting them.
As for your other question, are you asking whether you can use metamagic options on spells cast via a Wild Magic surge? If so, the answer to that is a definitive no; the Wild Magic Surge feature specifically says you can't do that.
I believe the answer to your main question is yes; it seems a little odd but there doesn't appear to be anything in the Metamagic feature that says anything against it. It says "You can use the chosen [metamagic] options to temporarily modify spells you cast". It doesn't say anything else about what kind of spells they can be or how you can be casting them.
As for your other question, are you asking whether you can use metamagic options on spells cast via a Wild Magic surge? If so, the answer to that is a definitive no; the Wild Magic Surge feature specifically says you can't do that.
I think it was concluded in a different thread that you could use MM on a spell scroll, so casting spells with magic items (that are not scrolls) would also be fair game.
To the second question, if they are instead asking whether casting through a magic item can trigger your wild magic, the answer is still "no", as it is only triggered when you cast a spell using a spell slot.
If you are asking whether you can affect spells cast through your wild magic surge, the answer is no.
Level 3: Wild Magic Surge
Your spellcasting can unleash surges of untamed magic. Once per turn, you can roll 1d20 immediately after you cast a Sorcerer spell with a spell slot. If you roll a 20, roll on the Wild Magic Surge table to create a magical effect.
If the magical effect is a spell, it is too wild to be affected by your Metamagic.
I would say no because the item is actually casting the spell.
This is certainly valid as a homebrew ruling but it's not supported by the official rules; under Rules As Written, when you cast a spell from an item, you're still the one casting the spell unless it explicitly says otherwise. There are a few magic items that have exceptions to this, like Blackrazor's ability to cast Haste on you itself when it wants to, but they're extremely rare.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
also what about wild magic?
My youtube channel
I believe the answer to your main question is yes; it seems a little odd but there doesn't appear to be anything in the Metamagic feature that says anything against it. It says "You can use the chosen [metamagic] options to temporarily modify spells you cast". It doesn't say anything else about what kind of spells they can be or how you can be casting them.
As for your other question, are you asking whether you can use metamagic options on spells cast via a Wild Magic surge? If so, the answer to that is a definitive no; the Wild Magic Surge feature specifically says you can't do that.
pronouns: he/she/they
I think it was concluded in a different thread that you could use MM on a spell scroll, so casting spells with magic items (that are not scrolls) would also be fair game.
To the second question, if they are instead asking whether casting through a magic item can trigger your wild magic, the answer is still "no", as it is only triggered when you cast a spell using a spell slot.
If you are asking whether you can affect spells cast through your wild magic surge, the answer is no.
Level 3: Wild Magic Surge
Your spellcasting can unleash surges of untamed magic. Once per turn, you can roll 1d20 immediately after you cast a Sorcerer spell with a spell slot. If you roll a 20, roll on the Wild Magic Surge table to create a magical effect.
If the magical effect is a spell, it is too wild to be affected by your Metamagic.
I would say no because the item is actually casting the spell.
Michael Pierce
As a DM, if the item's use of the spell is limited by charges then i dont allow meta magic to affect the spell.
This is certainly valid as a homebrew ruling but it's not supported by the official rules; under Rules As Written, when you cast a spell from an item, you're still the one casting the spell unless it explicitly says otherwise. There are a few magic items that have exceptions to this, like Blackrazor's ability to cast Haste on you itself when it wants to, but they're extremely rare.
pronouns: he/she/they