Yes, for that, and other options that say "up to X creatures of your choice," Zero creatures is a valid option.
The rules would say "(Minimum one creature)" or explicitly force the character to choose themselves if having at least one creature affected was the intention.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
New wild magic surge table has effects saying up to x creatures are affected, so can I choose none?
For example: 89–92 Up to three creatures of your choice that you can see within 30 feet of you take 4d10 Lightning damage.
Yes, for that, and other options that say "up to X creatures of your choice," Zero creatures is a valid option.
The rules would say "(Minimum one creature)" or explicitly force the character to choose themselves if having at least one creature affected was the intention.
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage