Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, you can add your Charisma modifier to one damage roll of that spell. At the same time, you can spend 1 sorcery point to gain resistance to that damage type for 1 hour.
Am I right in thinking that this means you can't spend 1 sorcery point to gain resistance to the damage type of your draconic ancestry unless you cast a spell that deals that damage?
Secondary question: you can add your Charisma modifier to one damage roll of that spell
Per....
Long rest, short rest, Turn, ever...
Did I miss something obvious in the wording?
You can do it every time you roll damage associated with your draconic ancestry. There is no other limitation. But you can add it to one damage roll meaning if you cast scorching ray you can add this damage to only one ray. See errata at https://twitter.com/S_McMahon617/status/611010335135408128.
Am I right in thinking that this means you can't spend 1 sorcery point to gain resistance to the damage type of your draconic ancestry unless you cast a spell that deals that damage?
Yes, that's correct. Of course, the spell can be a cantrip.
Thanks, this just seems like, weirdly specific and nonsensical for a minor benefit.
Resistance to damage is pretty nice though.
Secondary question: you can add your Charisma modifier to one damage roll of that spell
Per....
Long rest, short rest, Turn, ever...
Did I miss something obvious in the wording?
You can do it every time you roll damage associated with your draconic ancestry. There is no other limitation. But you can add it to one damage roll meaning if you cast scorching ray you can add this damage to only one ray. See errata at https://twitter.com/S_McMahon617/status/611010335135408128.
Was thinking that might be the case, but I do have a tendency to overthink sometimes..
Thank you, much.
Don't know what PHB you're using but in 5e PHB page 102 it says 1 hour.