I just built a 2024 with just the core rules and Homebrew (We use Attunement = Proficiency) and I have two instances of Contact Other Planes listed under Spells. I have not picked it from the spell list. They both reference the same page of the 2024 PHB, but one of them states in bright red letters at the bottom, "You contact your patron, and you automatically succeed on the spell’s saving throw." That version is also listed on my Class Features so I am inclined to believe it is valid.
But, the actual section in the PHB DOES NOT state this. Which is valid?
In the past, you usually contacted your patron through intermediaries. Now you can communicate directly; you always have the Contact Other Plane spell prepared. With this feature, you can cast the spell without expending a spell slot to contact your patron, and you automatically succeed on the spell’s saving throw.
Once you cast the spell with this feature, you can’t do so in this way again until you finish a Long Rest.
So while using the feature you automatically make the saving throw. If you cast it again on the same day as using the feature you do not have the protection offered by the feature and must make the save or go insane for a bit. Like the boss will take a call from you, ONE call, keep bugging them at your peril. You cannot use the feature again until you finish a long rest.
This is common in a lot of things now that spells are automatically prepared if you get a free casting from another source and when that is the case you see the same spell added twice, one for normal casting and the other for using the charges. Paladin for example gets the same thing with Divine Smite as they get 1 free 1st level Divine Smite per day from Paladin Smite but Paladin Smite also automatically prepares the Divine Smite spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I just built a 2024 with just the core rules and Homebrew (We use Attunement = Proficiency) and I have two instances of Contact Other Planes listed under Spells. I have not picked it from the spell list. They both reference the same page of the 2024 PHB, but one of them states in bright red letters at the bottom, "You contact your patron, and you automatically succeed on the spell’s saving throw." That version is also listed on my Class Features so I am inclined to believe it is valid.
But, the actual section in the PHB DOES NOT state this. Which is valid?
Working as designed (WAD)
Level 9: Contact Patron
In the past, you usually contacted your patron through intermediaries. Now you can communicate directly; you always have the Contact Other Plane spell prepared. With this feature, you can cast the spell without expending a spell slot to contact your patron, and you automatically succeed on the spell’s saving throw.
Once you cast the spell with this feature, you can’t do so in this way again until you finish a Long Rest.
So while using the feature you automatically make the saving throw. If you cast it again on the same day as using the feature you do not have the protection offered by the feature and must make the save or go insane for a bit. Like the boss will take a call from you, ONE call, keep bugging them at your peril. You cannot use the feature again until you finish a long rest.
Life's hard - get a helmet!
Thanks, so fair to assume having it listed twice in my prepared spells list is a minor bug?Ahh, I see now that one is Use and the other is Cast. Confusing at first blush.
This is common in a lot of things now that spells are automatically prepared if you get a free casting from another source and when that is the case you see the same spell added twice, one for normal casting and the other for using the charges. Paladin for example gets the same thing with Divine Smite as they get 1 free 1st level Divine Smite per day from Paladin Smite but Paladin Smite also automatically prepares the Divine Smite spell.