So I've been thinking of making a warlock and was looking through the invocations when I found the Repelling blast invocation which says: When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push the creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. The eldritch blast cantrip at higher levels creates more than one beam that can target the same or a different creature. My question is if you hit a creature with eldritch blast twice, would it be pushed 20 feet away?
The intent was that it only work once, but it applies to each hit as written. Invocations in Xanathar's Guide specify that they only work once per turn. Since Jeremy Crawford doesn't believe in changing poorly worded rules to work as intended through errata (as was frequently done in 4e), they will forever work differently.
So I've been thinking of making a warlock and was looking through the invocations when I found the Repelling blast invocation which says: When you hit a creature with eldritch blast, you can push the creature up to 10 feet away from you in a straight line. The eldritch blast cantrip at higher levels creates more than one beam that can target the same or a different creature. My question is if you hit a creature with eldritch blast twice, would it be pushed 20 feet away?
Grasp of Hadar specifies that it works once per round with Eldritch Blast, so Repelling Blast will work with every hit since it doesn’t say otherwise.
Professional computer geek
The intent was that it only work once, but it applies to each hit as written. Invocations in Xanathar's Guide specify that they only work once per turn. Since Jeremy Crawford doesn't believe in changing poorly worded rules to work as intended through errata (as was frequently done in 4e), they will forever work differently.
I remember finding a tweet by Jeremy Crawford when I had the same question and he said yes. I can't find the tweet though.