1.Let's say I choose Comprehend Languages (spell with a ritual tag) as one of my known spells at Level 2. I then take Pact of the Tome and Book of Ancient Secrets at Level 3. At the same time (or at a later level), can I put Comprehend Languages (because I know it) into my Book of Ancient Secrets and then drop the spell from my list of known spells? Or do I have to keep it on my list of known spells to cast it as a ritual?
2. How common is it to find ritual spell scrolls during a Level 1-5 adventure (published not homebrew)?
3. If I find ritual spells in a spellbook (or at a library?), can I copy them into my Book of Ancient Secrets?
4. If there's a wizard in my party, can we both copy the same ritual found in a spell scroll or spellbook? (If so, do we each spend 2 hours and 50 gp?)
I want to make sure I fully understand everything before I pick the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation.
When I’m the DM you can use a spell scroll one time. You can either cast from it or copy it into a spell book once. But you can then copy it from the first spell book to another spell book safely.
To do what you want with Comprehend Languages when I’m the DM you need to be proficient in the Arcana skill and you need to scribe it onto a spell scroll and then copy it from the spell scroll into your Book of Ancient Secrets.
None of the players in the games I DM have taken Warlock so the situation has not come up or me, that said I have no issue in learning from another character or you adding a spell ou already know into the Tome. I do agree with Tim regarding the scroll though, only one of you can copy it initially, then others can copy the copy.
This has a good answer here on RPG.SE which explains why the rules for Ritual Caster (BOAS is usually treated the same way) prevent scribing "known spells" into a BOAS or Spellbook.
There is another really good answer here on RPG.SE which presents the info from this Sage Advice answer (note that Jeremy Crawford's tweets are not officially considered binding) excerpted below:
Matt Harrah: "...For Book of Shadows warlock: what constitutes "finding" a ritual spell? A book/scroll? Observation of cast?"
Jeremy Crawford: "...Finding one written down."
A wizard's spell book, another warlocks Book of Shadows, or a scroll all qualify. I could see a DM making one carved on a wall of dungeon, etc, and it would count RAW and RAI.
I actually had a warlock with eyes of the Runekeeper. After I obtained BoAS, I scribed a scroll with the magics of the invocation, then copied into my BoAS, with the DM's permission. It's maybe not perfectly RAW, but it makes sense. So I say #1 is legit.
2) is dependent on the world and your DM's interpretation of what you might encounter. Even published material are somewhat dependent on DM's interpretations of what you might find in a library or chamber.
3) and 4) are RAW able to happen if anything is written. So, anything that's found: scroll, book, or for that matter, written upon a wall for some purpose.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
May the gentle moonlinght guide you to greater wisdom
1.Let's say I choose Comprehend Languages (spell with a ritual tag) as one of my known spells at Level 2. I then take Pact of the Tome and Book of Ancient Secrets at Level 3. At the same time (or at a later level), can I put Comprehend Languages (because I know it) into my Book of Ancient Secrets and then drop the spell from my list of known spells? Or do I have to keep it on my list of known spells to cast it as a ritual?
2. How common is it to find ritual spell scrolls during a Level 1-5 adventure (published not homebrew)?
3. If I find ritual spells in a spellbook (or at a library?), can I copy them into my Book of Ancient Secrets?
4. If there's a wizard in my party, can we both copy the same ritual found in a spell scroll or spellbook? (If so, do we each spend 2 hours and 50 gp?)
I want to make sure I fully understand everything before I pick the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation.
THANKS!!
Personally I would say
1. no you cannot put a ritual spell you know into your book. And no you cannot cast it as a ritual, if you know it, because you do not have the ability to cast rituals (other than what is in your book, and you can’t put it in your book)
2. Don’t know haven’t played published material.
3. yes if you find a spell book or scroll with a ritual spell you can copy it in your book.
4. as others have said, one can copy from the scroll and the other from the book. ( wizard puts it in their spell book and you then copy from there into yours)
If you have the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation you can cast any Warlock spell you know that has the ritual tag as a ritual spell, but you can't write it in the book.
If you have the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation you can cast any Warlock spell you know that has the ritual tag as a ritual spell, but you can't write it in the book.
This is partly incorrect. You can cast *any* ritual spell from any class, RAW.
Secondly, I consider it rather silly that a caster knows a spell as an invocation, then somehow can't write it down into a scroll to transfer to their grimoire, given the appropriate skill - in this case, Arcana.
Some people do that in real life all the time. We get facile with a skill, we write down our methods for later use, and then if we don't use it on the job s frequently as our jobs or roles change, we aren't as facile with it. So we go back to what we wrote down earlier to refresh our skills, should we need to use it again. Same thing with any arcane caster, whether it's a warlock or any other, you can learn, forget, and relearn. Warlocks are better at it than anyone, with their ability to switch out spells at every level up.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
May the gentle moonlinght guide you to greater wisdom
The point I was making is correct. You can copy any ritual spell into the book that you can find (provided it meets the requirement that it has a level up to half your Warlock level), and subsequently cast them as a ritual spell, but the point I was making was that it also allows you to cast Warlock spells you know that have the ritual tag as ritual spells, but you can't copy them into your book (unless you can find a copy of that spell on a scroll or in a book).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
1.Let's say I choose Comprehend Languages (spell with a ritual tag) as one of my known spells at Level 2. I then take Pact of the Tome and Book of Ancient Secrets at Level 3. At the same time (or at a later level), can I put Comprehend Languages (because I know it) into my Book of Ancient Secrets and then drop the spell from my list of known spells? Or do I have to keep it on my list of known spells to cast it as a ritual?
2. How common is it to find ritual spell scrolls during a Level 1-5 adventure (published not homebrew)?
3. If I find ritual spells in a spellbook (or at a library?), can I copy them into my Book of Ancient Secrets?
4. If there's a wizard in my party, can we both copy the same ritual found in a spell scroll or spellbook? (If so, do we each spend 2 hours and 50 gp?)
I want to make sure I fully understand everything before I pick the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation.
THANKS!!
When I’m the DM you can use a spell scroll one time. You can either cast from it or copy it into a spell book once. But you can then copy it from the first spell book to another spell book safely.
To do what you want with Comprehend Languages when I’m the DM you need to be proficient in the Arcana skill and you need to scribe it onto a spell scroll and then copy it from the spell scroll into your Book of Ancient Secrets.
Professional computer geek
None of the players in the games I DM have taken Warlock so the situation has not come up or me, that said I have no issue in learning from another character or you adding a spell ou already know into the Tome. I do agree with Tim regarding the scroll though, only one of you can copy it initially, then others can copy the copy.
This has a good answer here on RPG.SE which explains why the rules for Ritual Caster (BOAS is usually treated the same way) prevent scribing "known spells" into a BOAS or Spellbook.
There is another really good answer here on RPG.SE which presents the info from this Sage Advice answer (note that Jeremy Crawford's tweets are not officially considered binding) excerpted below:
I actually had a warlock with eyes of the Runekeeper. After I obtained BoAS, I scribed a scroll with the magics of the invocation, then copied into my BoAS, with the DM's permission. It's maybe not perfectly RAW, but it makes sense. So I say #1 is legit.
2) is dependent on the world and your DM's interpretation of what you might encounter. Even published material are somewhat dependent on DM's interpretations of what you might find in a library or chamber.
3) and 4) are RAW able to happen if anything is written. So, anything that's found: scroll, book, or for that matter, written upon a wall for some purpose.
May the gentle moonlinght guide you to greater wisdom
Personally I would say
1. no you cannot put a ritual spell you know into your book. And no you cannot cast it as a ritual, if you know it, because you do not have the ability to cast rituals (other than what is in your book, and you can’t put it in your book)
2. Don’t know haven’t played published material.
3. yes if you find a spell book or scroll with a ritual spell you can copy it in your book.
4. as others have said, one can copy from the scroll and the other from the book. ( wizard puts it in their spell book and you then copy from there into yours)
all with any associated cost and time for copying
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
If you have the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation you can cast any Warlock spell you know that has the ritual tag as a ritual spell, but you can't write it in the book.
This is partly incorrect. You can cast *any* ritual spell from any class, RAW.
Secondly, I consider it rather silly that a caster knows a spell as an invocation, then somehow can't write it down into a scroll to transfer to their grimoire, given the appropriate skill - in this case, Arcana.
Some people do that in real life all the time. We get facile with a skill, we write down our methods for later use, and then if we don't use it on the job s frequently as our jobs or roles change, we aren't as facile with it. So we go back to what we wrote down earlier to refresh our skills, should we need to use it again. Same thing with any arcane caster, whether it's a warlock or any other, you can learn, forget, and relearn. Warlocks are better at it than anyone, with their ability to switch out spells at every level up.
May the gentle moonlinght guide you to greater wisdom
The point I was making is correct. You can copy any ritual spell into the book that you can find (provided it meets the requirement that it has a level up to half your Warlock level), and subsequently cast them as a ritual spell, but the point I was making was that it also allows you to cast Warlock spells you know that have the ritual tag as ritual spells, but you can't copy them into your book (unless you can find a copy of that spell on a scroll or in a book).