So I love the theme of the Order of Scribes Wizard. I feel like the ritual caster feat would be a natural extension of their desire to catalog magical knowledge. Is there any reason that an Order of Scribes Wizard couldn’t scribe their rituals from another class into their spell book? I found a tweet from Jeremy but I’d like something more concrete. The main reasons I’m asking are...
1, Using their magical quill the time to copy a spell into their spellbook is two minutes per spell level. Shortening the time to scribe a ritual caster spell. 2, If there spellbook is lost they can make a new one over a short rest. Thus recovering their rituals as well. 3, After a long rest they can touch their quill to a parchment and copy a spell from their spellbook onto it. I’m specifically think of a wizard being able to cast silence as an action from a scroll on another wizard. 4, The time and cost of scribing spell is halved. The rules state you must have spell slots and be able to cast the spell (all be it as a ritual only). 5, When they take damage they can instead sacrifice 3d6 spells from their spellbook instead taking no damage once peer day. I’m think that a few extra spells to sacrifice couldn’t hurt.
So I love the theme of the Order of Scribes Wizard. I feel like the ritual caster feat would be a natural extension of their desire to catalog magical knowledge. Is there any reason that an Order of Scribes Wizard couldn’t scribe their rituals from another class into their spell book? I found a tweet from Jeremy but I’d like something more concrete. The main reasons I’m asking are...
1, Using their magical quill the time to copy a spell into their spellbook is two minutes per spell level. Shortening the time to scribe a ritual caster spell. 2, If there spellbook is lost they can make a new one over a short rest. Thus recovering their rituals as well. 3, After a long rest they can touch their quill to a parchment and copy a spell from their spellbook onto it. I’m specifically think of a wizard being able to cast silence as an action from a scroll on another wizard. 4, The time and cost of scribing spell is halved. The rules state you must have spell slots and be able to cast the spell (all be it as a ritual only). 5, When they take damage they can instead sacrifice 3d6 spells from their spellbook instead taking no damage once peer day. I’m think that a few extra spells to sacrifice couldn’t hurt.
RAW, the ritual caster feat gives you another spellbook for ritual spells. So as a Scribes wizard with the Ritual Caster feat you would have 2 spellbooks: 1 for all the wizard stuff, and another for the Ritual Caster spells. The Scribes features would only apply to your wizard spellbook. For your Ritual Caster book, you would have to follow the rules as stated in the feat for copying spells.
I do not believe that this will work how you hope. While the wizards spell book allows you to copy spells into, it only allows wizard spells to be copied.
From the Player's Handbook under Wizard - "Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."
The Caster feat gives you a book as well, but it is a separate book that is not the same as the Wizard Spellbook as the book gained with the feat is called a Ritual Book. Because of this difference I do not believe that any of the things you listed would work in combination with the Ritual Caster Feat since none of those spells would be apart of the Awakened Spellbook.
Just to point out for number 4 on your list, the quill only halves the time of inscribing, the cost remains the same.
Wasn’t sure but no harm in asking the community, right? As far as number 4 this is what the book says, “You are also adept at crafting spell scrolls, which are described in the treasure chapter of the Dungeon Master’s Guide. The gold and time you must spend to make such a scroll are halved if you use your Wizardly Quill.”
Man, I don't know about you, but I'd be super tempted to take up keen mind feat to go alongside the ritual caster feat. Sure, you can replace your regular wizard spellbook, but what about your ritual caster book? As far as I can see, there's nothing to support you'd just get a replacement. so keen mind, read your entire ritual book each month so if anything happens to it, you can readily scribe it into a replacement book.
Sorry to reopen the quarrel but I'd like to point out the wording on the Class Feat:
"While you are holding the book, it grants you the following benefits: ... When you cast a wizard spell as a ritual, you can use the spell's normal casting time, rather than adding 10 minutes to it. Once you use this benefit, you can't do so again until you finish a long rest."
It sems to at least be possible to use the feat for additional wizard rituals (e.g. Detect Magic), as it is stated nowhere that the ritual must be cast from the Awakened Spellbook; just that it must held while casting the ritual.
Please correct me if I am wrong but a Variant Human 2nd level Order of The Scribes Wizard effectively gets unlimited uses of Detect Magic as ritual with a casting time of 1 action, which isn't broken but is indeed pretty cool!
Sorry to reopen the quarrel but I'd like to point out the wording on the Class Feat:
"While you are holding the book, it grants you the following benefits: ... When you cast a wizard spell as a ritual, you can use the spell's normal casting time, rather than adding 10 minutes to it. Once you use this benefit, you can't do so again until you finish a long rest."
It sems to at least be possible to use the feat for additional wizard rituals (e.g. Detect Magic), as it is stated nowhere that the ritual must be cast from the Awakened Spellbook; just that it must held while casting the ritual.
Please correct me if I am wrong but a Variant Human 2nd level Order of The Scribes Wizard effectively gets unlimited uses of Detect Magic as ritual with a casting time of 1 action, which isn't broken but is indeed pretty cool!
What part of "once you use this benefit you can't do so again until you finish a long rest" makes you think you can do it again?
If you want to cast detect magic at will, go warlock or something.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I love the theme of the Order of Scribes Wizard. I feel like the ritual caster feat would be a natural extension of their desire to catalog magical knowledge. Is there any reason that an Order of Scribes Wizard couldn’t scribe their rituals from another class into their spell book? I found a tweet from Jeremy but I’d like something more concrete. The main reasons I’m asking are...
1, Using their magical quill the time to copy a spell into their spellbook is two minutes per spell level. Shortening the time to scribe a ritual caster spell.
2, If there spellbook is lost they can make a new one over a short rest. Thus recovering their rituals as well.
3, After a long rest they can touch their quill to a parchment and copy a spell from their spellbook onto it. I’m specifically think of a wizard being able to cast silence as an action from a scroll on another wizard.
4, The time and cost of scribing spell is halved. The rules state you must have spell slots and be able to cast the spell (all be it as a ritual only).
5, When they take damage they can instead sacrifice 3d6 spells from their spellbook instead taking no damage once peer day. I’m think that a few extra spells to sacrifice couldn’t hurt.
RAW, the ritual caster feat gives you another spellbook for ritual spells. So as a Scribes wizard with the Ritual Caster feat you would have 2 spellbooks: 1 for all the wizard stuff, and another for the Ritual Caster spells. The Scribes features would only apply to your wizard spellbook. For your Ritual Caster book, you would have to follow the rules as stated in the feat for copying spells.
I do not believe that this will work how you hope. While the wizards spell book allows you to copy spells into, it only allows wizard spells to be copied.
From the Player's Handbook under Wizard - "Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it."
The Caster feat gives you a book as well, but it is a separate book that is not the same as the Wizard Spellbook as the book gained with the feat is called a Ritual Book. Because of this difference I do not believe that any of the things you listed would work in combination with the Ritual Caster Feat since none of those spells would be apart of the Awakened Spellbook.
Just to point out for number 4 on your list, the quill only halves the time of inscribing, the cost remains the same.
Wasn’t sure but no harm in asking the community, right? As far as number 4 this is what the book says, “You are also adept at crafting spell scrolls, which are described in the treasure chapter of the Dungeon Master’s Guide. The gold and time you must spend to make such a scroll are halved if you use your Wizardly Quill.”
Thanks for replying.
Ah, you meant crafting spell scrolls. You put scribing spells and I thought you meant copying them into a spell book, not creating spell scrolls.
Man, I don't know about you, but I'd be super tempted to take up keen mind feat to go alongside the ritual caster feat. Sure, you can replace your regular wizard spellbook, but what about your ritual caster book? As far as I can see, there's nothing to support you'd just get a replacement. so keen mind, read your entire ritual book each month so if anything happens to it, you can readily scribe it into a replacement book.
Sorry to reopen the quarrel but I'd like to point out the wording on the Class Feat:
"While you are holding the book, it grants you the following benefits: ...
When you cast a wizard spell as a ritual, you can use the spell's normal casting time, rather than adding 10 minutes to it. Once you use this benefit, you can't do so again until you finish a long rest."
It sems to at least be possible to use the feat for additional wizard rituals (e.g. Detect Magic), as it is stated nowhere that the ritual must be cast from the Awakened Spellbook; just that it must held while casting the ritual.
Please correct me if I am wrong but a Variant Human 2nd level Order of The Scribes Wizard effectively gets unlimited uses of Detect Magic as ritual with a casting time of 1 action, which isn't broken but is indeed pretty cool!
What part of "once you use this benefit you can't do so again until you finish a long rest" makes you think you can do it again?
If you want to cast detect magic at will, go warlock or something.