So I have a question and I'm curious how other people would rule this situation.
I have been playing a fairly standard elven bladesinger in a campaign. Rapier in her main hand, nothing in her off hand to cast spells. We are level 7, half way to level 8. I was planning on taking the Warcaster at eighth level. In the last game I found a magic staff that I think is pretty powerful. I'm not sure what kind it is yet, because I have not identified or attuned to it yet. But I have a good feeling about it.
My question is this:
Can I simply count the magic staff as a staff in the sense of an arcane focus, OR does it HAVE to count as a quarterstaff weapon.
In a perfect world. I would take the warcaster feat at 8th level. Use a rapier in her main hand like usual, but use the staff in her off hand as an arcane foci and to use its magical abilities. I would never use the staff to attack someone like a quarterstaff.
Would this be allowed? Or would I also need to invest in the dual-wielder feat?
My thought was no I would not ALSO need Dual-Wielder, because again, I am not using the staff as a weapon, more like a tool.
Sure you could use the Magi Staff in your off-hand as an arcane focus, you just couldn't use it to do a bonus-action two-weapon fighting attack, unless you got the Dual Wielder feat.
You'd still need Warcaster to be able to perform somatic spell components, unless you're planning on dropping your rapier every time you want to cast a spell
Cheers! That was my interpretation as well. Which is exactly the best of both worlds. It was that or I drop the sword, use the staff, and become a more traditionally minded wizard.
Considering her main weapon is a rapier, and a quarterstaff is not a light weapon. I think that my character would need dual wielder to attack with both weapons. But you are right, you would not need it to simply hold something in the off-hand.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I have a question and I'm curious how other people would rule this situation.
I have been playing a fairly standard elven bladesinger in a campaign. Rapier in her main hand, nothing in her off hand to cast spells. We are level 7, half way to level 8. I was planning on taking the Warcaster at eighth level. In the last game I found a magic staff that I think is pretty powerful. I'm not sure what kind it is yet, because I have not identified or attuned to it yet. But I have a good feeling about it.
My question is this:
Sure you could use the Magi Staff in your off-hand as an arcane focus, you just couldn't use it to do a bonus-action two-weapon fighting attack, unless you got the Dual Wielder feat.
You'd still need Warcaster to be able to perform somatic spell components, unless you're planning on dropping your rapier every time you want to cast a spell
At least that's how i understand the rules.
Cheers! That was my interpretation as well. Which is exactly the best of both worlds. It was that or I drop the sword, use the staff, and become a more traditionally minded wizard.
You do not need Dual Wielder to make an off hand attack, and definitely not to hold a weapon in the off hand.
Considering her main weapon is a rapier, and a quarterstaff is not a light weapon. I think that my character would need dual wielder to attack with both weapons. But you are right, you would not need it to simply hold something in the off-hand.