So a Death Cleric in one of my games cast Vampiric Touch. Few rounds later after he attacked with it he asked if he could cast Healing Word as his bonus action. DM said no because he considered the vampiric Touch Attack to be calling on the spell despite that he'd had it up a while via concentration. Obviously DM's word is law and I was okay with that but I'm curious on the RAW ruling of this. Any opinions?
So a Death Cleric in one of my games cast Vampiric Touch. Few rounds later after he attacked with it he asked if he could cast Healing Word as his bonus action. DM said no because he considered the vampiric Touch Attack to be calling on the spell despite that he'd had it up a while via concentration. Obviously DM's word is law and I was okay with that but I'm curious on the RAW ruling of this. Any opinions?
Using an action granted by a spell isn't the same thing as casting a spell. RAW, they can cast Healing Word.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I know some DM's find Healing Word over powered, which might be part of why they made that ruling. But yeah, RAW it's perfectly legal.