Starting at 17th level, when the cleric casts a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other. If the spell consumes its material components, the cleric must provide them for each target.
so as far as I can tell this should work with Life Transference as well. The rule doesn't say it has to be an attack....
It affects more than one creature, and is ineligible for use with Reaper. Spare the Dying is an example of a non-damaging spell that does work with Reaper.
[edit] Just in case, before anyone starts in on what constitutes a "target"... please don't. There have been a ton of discussions, and they all come back to the same thing: if a spell/effect is capable of affecting a creature/object--directly, indirectly, AoE, ancillary attacks, terrain effects, effects on later turns, etc.--it is a target.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Improved Reaper says that "when the cleric casts a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other." So if I use Improved Reaper to cast Vampiric Touch or Life Transfer on myself can I also cast it on a second creature that is within 5 feet of me? And since it doesn't specify friend or enemy could I possibly even use Life transfer to target myself and an enemy creature within 5 feet of me?
Improved Reaper says that "when the cleric casts a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other." So if I use Improved Reaper to cast Vampiric Touch or Life Transfer on myself can I also cast it on a second creature that is within 5 feet of me? And since it doesn't specify friend or enemy could I possibly even use Life transfer to target myself and an enemy creature within 5 feet of me?
Vampiric touch is a self targeting spell, so there wouldn't be 2 targets within range of it (range being self).
Improved Reaper
Starting at 17th level, when the cleric casts a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other. If the spell consumes its material components, the cleric must provide them for each target.
so as far as I can tell this should work with Life Transference as well. The rule doesn't say it has to be an attack....
Correct, but you would lose twice the amount of HP because the effect of the spell is copied for the extra target.
Strictly speaking Life Tranference targets both the caster and the recipient of the healing.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I think it would have a range of self if that were the case. I'd default to "ask DM." They may have a different answer.
It affects more than one creature, and is ineligible for use with Reaper. Spare the Dying is an example of a non-damaging spell that does work with Reaper.
[edit] Just in case, before anyone starts in on what constitutes a "target"... please don't. There have been a ton of discussions, and they all come back to the same thing: if a spell/effect is capable of affecting a creature/object--directly, indirectly, AoE, ancillary attacks, terrain effects, effects on later turns, etc.--it is a target.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Improved Reaper says that "when the cleric casts a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other." So if I use Improved Reaper to cast Vampiric Touch or Life Transfer on myself can I also cast it on a second creature that is within 5 feet of me? And since it doesn't specify friend or enemy could I possibly even use Life transfer to target myself and an enemy creature within 5 feet of me?
Vampiric touch is a self targeting spell, so there wouldn't be 2 targets within range of it (range being self).
Life transference you can.
Well in that case could you give yourself double Vampiric Touch? :)
I assume that must be a joke, but just in case:
It was worth a shot. Would have been nice though to give myself and one other lvl 5 Vampiric Touch though.