When a class description says a feature requires a certain level, it generally means within that class. (Also nearly half of the Invocations require "Xth level" so if this was wrong, so would a whole lot else...)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
The fact that some of the invocations specify "X level warlock" and some specify "X level" is what led me to believe that this is a bug. Based on your statement, all of the invocation prerequisite statements that say "X level warlock" are wrong or perhaps just redundant. That doesn't seem likely to me, but perhaps you're right.
Eldritch Invocations (p. 110). The following sentence has been added to the end of the first paragraph: “A level prerequisite refers to your level in this class."
My character is level 10, Warlock 6/Paladin 4.
My character cannot take Relentless Hex because the prerequisite being applied is "7th level warlock, hex spell or a warlock feature that curses".
The correct prerequisite for Relentless Hex is "7th level, hex spell or a warlock feature that curses".
When a class description says a feature requires a certain level, it generally means within that class. (Also nearly half of the Invocations require "Xth level" so if this was wrong, so would a whole lot else...)
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
The fact that some of the invocations specify "X level warlock" and some specify "X level" is what led me to believe that this is a bug. Based on your statement, all of the invocation prerequisite statements that say "X level warlock" are wrong or perhaps just redundant. That doesn't seem likely to me, but perhaps you're right.
Ok, I found the relevant PHB errata:
So... yeah. You're right! And I am sad.
Please close this one.