So I have a forest gnome wizard. His race grants him natural illusionist meaning he gets the minor illusion cantrip for free. At second level he chooses school of illusion as his arcane tradition. The rules state:
When you choose this school at 2nd level, you learn the minor illusion cantrip. If you already know this cantrip, you learn a different wizard cantrip of your choice. The cantrip doesn’t count against your number of cantrips known.
Doesn't this mean he should be granted a fourth cantrip?
This is an odd one, with some ambiguous phrasing in the class details, but I believe you may be right. The text says that if you know the minor illusion cantrip, then you learn a different wizard cantrip. It doesn't say you have to know minor illusion through the wizard class, only that you receive a new wizard cantrip.
I'll go ahead and mark this as a bug - right now there's no option to replace the cantrip if you have it through a racial trait.
In the meantime you could consider looking into the homebrew system for a workaround - it's possible to create an item that grants you a wizard cantrip. If you need any help with that, please feel free to post in the homebrew subforum.
Yes I have done it for my home game. But like you I thought it was interesting. I only reported it to help improve product. I am glad to hear you read the it the same way I do.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I have a forest gnome wizard. His race grants him natural illusionist meaning he gets the minor illusion cantrip for free. At second level he chooses school of illusion as his arcane tradition. The rules state:
When you choose this school at 2nd level, you learn the minor illusion cantrip. If you already know this cantrip, you learn a different wizard cantrip of your choice. The cantrip doesn’t count against your number of cantrips known.
Doesn't this mean he should be granted a fourth cantrip?
This is an odd one, with some ambiguous phrasing in the class details, but I believe you may be right. The text says that if you know the minor illusion cantrip, then you learn a different wizard cantrip. It doesn't say you have to know minor illusion through the wizard class, only that you receive a new wizard cantrip.
I'll go ahead and mark this as a bug - right now there's no option to replace the cantrip if you have it through a racial trait.
In the meantime you could consider looking into the homebrew system for a workaround - it's possible to create an item that grants you a wizard cantrip. If you need any help with that, please feel free to post in the homebrew subforum.
Site Rules & Guidelines - Please feel free to message a moderator if you have any concerns.
My homebrew: [Subclasses] [Races] [Feats] [Discussion Thread]
Yes I have done it for my home game. But like you I thought it was interesting. I only reported it to help improve product. I am glad to hear you read the it the same way I do.