So this was a small point of contention in a table that I recently finished up in (finished as we completed the adventure).
So in the 2024 PHB and on the DnDBeyond site the new weapon masteries only requirement is in the mastery text. So for example the mastery "Cleave" says "If you hit a creature with a melee attack using a Greataxe....", this does not mention action, reaction, or bonus action. Now if you look at a character sheet with the same mastery and look at the details it has now the "Action Type: 1 Action" added to the text. This detail gets shared when you share the ability in VTT chat (e.g. AboveVTT). So in the last adventure I was a part of the DM ruled that masteries could not be used for bonus actions or attack of opportunity reactions because of this text.
Everywhere I have looked at online has said that this is incorrect, but the DM went solely based on this text. If how I am interpreting this is correct, would it be possible to change this in the DnDBeyond character sheets? This being the feedback forum I am hoping this is the correct place to raise this.
Point out to your DM that the ONLY reason it shows up like that is D&D Beyond's system is programmed in such a way that actions like that have to have a form of action economy selected, and despite it not being limited to the action in the rules of the game, D&D Beyond's programmers erroneously put it there. Likely as a way to make it more visible on the character sheet.
D&D Beyond's duct-tape-and-bubble-gum programming isn't something any DM should be using to judge the rules. The text of the rules in the book is the only thing that matters.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So this was a small point of contention in a table that I recently finished up in (finished as we completed the adventure).
So in the 2024 PHB and on the DnDBeyond site the new weapon masteries only requirement is in the mastery text. So for example the mastery "Cleave" says "If you hit a creature with a melee attack using a Greataxe....", this does not mention action, reaction, or bonus action. Now if you look at a character sheet with the same mastery and look at the details it has now the "Action Type: 1 Action" added to the text. This detail gets shared when you share the ability in VTT chat (e.g. AboveVTT). So in the last adventure I was a part of the DM ruled that masteries could not be used for bonus actions or attack of opportunity reactions because of this text.
Everywhere I have looked at online has said that this is incorrect, but the DM went solely based on this text. If how I am interpreting this is correct, would it be possible to change this in the DnDBeyond character sheets? This being the feedback forum I am hoping this is the correct place to raise this.
Thank you
Point out to your DM that the ONLY reason it shows up like that is D&D Beyond's system is programmed in such a way that actions like that have to have a form of action economy selected, and despite it not being limited to the action in the rules of the game, D&D Beyond's programmers erroneously put it there. Likely as a way to make it more visible on the character sheet.
D&D Beyond's duct-tape-and-bubble-gum programming isn't something any DM should be using to judge the rules. The text of the rules in the book is the only thing that matters.