Landed a homebrew campaign that's kind of a nexus world with all official content available and decided to chance an Aarakocra... because I like a challenge. (Forewarning: if you have an apt GM, they may choose to make you roll WIS saves every hour you choose to spend in a dungeon or cave... just FYI, Aarakocra tend to be claustrophobic)
So, wasn't expecting him to make Aarakocra lore my destiny in this game... my intro to the group was a failed DEX save and crashing into a tree, then a plea to help find the last two pieces of the Rod (brevity).
Barely managed to retrieve one piece so far. And my prolonged question being: As one piece of the Rod can lead to the next sequential piece, would placing it in a Bag of Holding keep it from being tracked? I have read that placing an item in a BOH negates "locate object", but as this is an artifact, do those rules still apply? Trying to keep the baddies from tracking me while I look for the next piece.
It's really up to the DM. A BoH doesn't really negate Locate Object by blocking it, it's just that the spell has a limited range and the BoH's contents are technically not on the material plane and thus outside the spell's range. A more powerful spell might not have that same limitation (though it'd have to be a lot more powerful), so you really can't be 100% certain.
That said, it certainly won't hurt and will at the very least make it considerably more difficult to track the item. I'd definitely keep it stored that way, just be aware this might not be a perfect solution depending on the means and resources of the baddies..
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
It's really up to the DM. A BoH doesn't really negate Locate Object by blocking it, it's just that the spell has a limited range and the BoH's contents are technically not on the material plane and thus outside the spell's range. A more powerful spell might not have that same limitation (though it'd have to be a lot more powerful), so you really can't be 100% certain.
That said, it certainly won't hurt and will at the very least make it considerably more difficult to track the item. I'd definitely keep it stored that way, just be aware this might not be a perfect solution depending on the means and resources of the baddies..
Quick question, in this case, would the Rod point to the entrance of the interdimensional space (the bag), or would it point to the literal location of the interdimensional space (nowhere)?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
It's really up to the DM. A BoH doesn't really negate Locate Object by blocking it, it's just that the spell has a limited range and the BoH's contents are technically not on the material plane and thus outside the spell's range. A more powerful spell might not have that same limitation (though it'd have to be a lot more powerful), so you really can't be 100% certain.
That said, it certainly won't hurt and will at the very least make it considerably more difficult to track the item. I'd definitely keep it stored that way, just be aware this might not be a perfect solution depending on the means and resources of the baddies..
Quick question, in this case, would the Rod point to the entrance of the interdimensional space (the bag), or would it point to the literal location of the interdimensional space (nowhere)?
Excellent question, to which I have no proven answer. I'd heard of the Rod, but never used it or played a relevant campaign, so this has never been pertinent for me. I just wanted to address the Locate Object spell above. I'd probably rule it'd point to the bag because otherwise it's too easy to circumvent an explicitly built-in mechanic.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Back again with another un-sourceable question!
Landed a homebrew campaign that's kind of a nexus world with all official content available and decided to chance an Aarakocra... because I like a challenge. (Forewarning: if you have an apt GM, they may choose to make you roll WIS saves every hour you choose to spend in a dungeon or cave... just FYI, Aarakocra tend to be claustrophobic)
So, wasn't expecting him to make Aarakocra lore my destiny in this game... my intro to the group was a failed DEX save and crashing into a tree, then a plea to help find the last two pieces of the Rod (brevity).
Barely managed to retrieve one piece so far. And my prolonged question being: As one piece of the Rod can lead to the next sequential piece, would placing it in a Bag of Holding keep it from being tracked? I have read that placing an item in a BOH negates "locate object", but as this is an artifact, do those rules still apply? Trying to keep the baddies from tracking me while I look for the next piece.
It's really up to the DM. A BoH doesn't really negate Locate Object by blocking it, it's just that the spell has a limited range and the BoH's contents are technically not on the material plane and thus outside the spell's range. A more powerful spell might not have that same limitation (though it'd have to be a lot more powerful), so you really can't be 100% certain.
That said, it certainly won't hurt and will at the very least make it considerably more difficult to track the item. I'd definitely keep it stored that way, just be aware this might not be a perfect solution depending on the means and resources of the baddies..
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Quick question, in this case, would the Rod point to the entrance of the interdimensional space (the bag), or would it point to the literal location of the interdimensional space (nowhere)?
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Excellent question, to which I have no proven answer. I'd heard of the Rod, but never used it or played a relevant campaign, so this has never been pertinent for me. I just wanted to address the Locate Object spell above. I'd probably rule it'd point to the bag because otherwise it's too easy to circumvent an explicitly built-in mechanic.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].