So I am a little confused about the wording under the description of Polearm Master. It says with a reaction I get an AoO when an enemy enters my reach, with a Halberd or reach weapon I have a ten foot reach. But it shows 5ft for the reaction, does that mean even though I can reach 10 feet for my normally attacks but for AoO I have to wait for the enemy creature/NPC to be within 5 feet?
You can use PAM to make an OA when a target enters your reach with the polearm, but it doesn't have to be with the polearm. So if your wielded polearm is a spear you can make a 5 foot OA with the spear or a 5 foot OA with an unarmed strike or a 5 foot OA with a weapon you have in your other hand.
With a halberd, that should happen at 10 feet, not 5, though.
You can use PAM to make an OA when a target enters your reach, but it doesn't have to be with the polearm. So if your wielded polearm is a halberd, you can make a 10 foot OA with the halberd or a 5 foot OA with an unarmed strike when someone enters the relevant range.
Well, this is completely untrue.
From PAM: "While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter the reach you have with that weapon."
You can use PAM to make an OA when a target enters your reach, but it doesn't have to be with the polearm. So if your wielded polearm is a halberd, you can make a 10 foot OA with the halberd or a 5 foot OA with an unarmed strike when someone enters the relevant range.
Umm no, that's not what the feat does at all. If you have a glaive etc you have a 10ft reach and can make an OA if the enemy moves into that range. So enemy is 30ft away and closes to melee range, when they get to 10ft from you bang, OA, then if they don't die they resume closing and make their attacks.
You can use PAM to make an OA when a target enters your reach, but it doesn't have to be with the polearm. So if your wielded polearm is a halberd, you can make a 10 foot OA with the halberd or a 5 foot OA with an unarmed strike when someone enters the relevant range.
Well, this is completely untrue.
From PAM: "While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter the reach you have with that weapon."
Yes, you're right. I misremembered. I'm going to edit my original post to fix it.
You can use PAM to make an OA when a target enters your reach, but it doesn't have to be with the polearm. So if your wielded polearm is a halberd, you can make a 10 foot OA with the halberd or a 5 foot OA with an unarmed strike when someone enters the relevant range.
Umm no, that's not what the feat does at all. If you have a glaive etc you have a 10ft reach and can make an OA if the enemy moves into that range. So enemy is 30ft away and closes to melee range, when they get to 10ft from you bang, OA, then if they don't die they resume closing and make their attacks.
I think that he is pointing out the almost certainly unintended hole in the rules that it does not say you must use a weapon with sufficient reach. So your glaive means that your reach is 10', the enemy enters that 10' radius and you lash out at them with your 5' reach weapon, because the rules do not say you must use an attack with sufficient reach.
This is where I normally say that there is a level of common sense expected in interpreting the rules and that going by pure RAW is not good DMing philosophy. However, they are right in terms of RAW. It is what it is, nothing more, nothing less.
You probably shouldn't reply on behalf of other people, as evidenced by the poster saying they were in error. Additionally - it literally says With that weapon in the feat description - so with the pike, glaive, halbard etc and not wait for them to close another 5 ft and slap them with a glove.
So I am a little confused about the wording under the description of Polearm Master. It says with a reaction I get an AoO when an enemy enters my reach, with a Halberd or reach weapon I have a ten foot reach. But it shows 5ft for the reaction, does that mean even though I can reach 10 feet for my normally attacks but for AoO I have to wait for the enemy creature/NPC to be within 5 feet?
You can use PAM to make an OA when a target enters your reach with the polearm, but it doesn't have to be with the polearm. So if your wielded polearm is a spear you can make a 5 foot OA with the spear or a 5 foot OA with an unarmed strike or a 5 foot OA with a weapon you have in your other hand.
With a halberd, that should happen at 10 feet, not 5, though.
Well, this is completely untrue.
From PAM: "While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, quarterstaff, or spear, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter the reach you have with that weapon."
Umm no, that's not what the feat does at all. If you have a glaive etc you have a 10ft reach and can make an OA if the enemy moves into that range. So enemy is 30ft away and closes to melee range, when they get to 10ft from you bang, OA, then if they don't die they resume closing and make their attacks.
Yes, you're right. I misremembered. I'm going to edit my original post to fix it.
...annnnnd done.
You probably shouldn't reply on behalf of other people, as evidenced by the poster saying they were in error. Additionally - it literally says With that weapon in the feat description - so with the pike, glaive, halbard etc and not wait for them to close another 5 ft and slap them with a glove.