In general any effect that assigns a value cannot stack, because that doesn't even mean anything, only bonuses can stack. Thus, shield (grants a +2) or a ring of protection (+1) can stack (unless some other effect prevents them from doing so), but different ways of calculating base value cannot stack, because they aren't bonuses.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
can this stack or no?
No, you pick one and use it but you don't get both.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/step-by-step-characters#ArmorClass
They're different ways to calculate your AC, which means it's one or the other.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
In general any effect that assigns a value cannot stack, because that doesn't even mean anything, only bonuses can stack. Thus, shield (grants a +2) or a ring of protection (+1) can stack (unless some other effect prevents them from doing so), but different ways of calculating base value cannot stack, because they aren't bonuses.