Yeah, that's what I took it as. But you can also read it as 2d4 being the damage die. So it'd be better to just equip it with a war pick to get the full crit effect.
Yeah, that's what I took it as. But you can also read it as 2d4 being the damage die. So it'd be better to just equip it with a war pick to get the full crit effect.
It's die. Singular. The damage die is a d4, and it does two of them. Piercer adds one more, so the total is 3d4.
Or it could be referring to the die used for damage, which would be 2d4. But I agree, just the illogic at times of 5e. Like brutal critical with a great sword. Clearly better to use a weapon with 1d8 rather than 2d4 for damage if you have piercer.
Or it could be referring to the die used for damage, which would be 2d4. But I agree, just the illogic at times of 5e. Like brutal critical with a great sword. Clearly better to use a weapon with 1d8 rather than 2d4 for damage if you have piercer.
2d4 isn’t a die. It’s two dice. Compare the critical hut rule that says “roll all of the attack’s damage dice twice.”
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
A dagger with piercer on critical would roll 1d4+1d4 (regular crit)+1d4 (piercer)
Would an Oversized dagger have 2d4+2d4 (regular crit)+2d4 (piercer) or would piercer offer only add 1d4 piercer crit damage?
You roll "one additional damage die," so you roll one die, not two.
Yeah, that's what I took it as. But you can also read it as 2d4 being the damage die. So it'd be better to just equip it with a war pick to get the full crit effect.
It's die. Singular. The damage die is a d4, and it does two of them. Piercer adds one more, so the total is 3d4.
I have a weird sense of humor.
I also make maps.(That's a link)
Or it could be referring to the die used for damage, which would be 2d4. But I agree, just the illogic at times of 5e. Like brutal critical with a great sword. Clearly better to use a weapon with 1d8 rather than 2d4 for damage if you have piercer.
2d4 isn’t a die. It’s two dice. Compare the critical hut rule that says “roll all of the attack’s damage dice twice.”