I'm running a hexasorcadin and am in Melle combat I use my action to cast booming blade and make my attack. On my bonus action I Quicken a booming blade and swing.. does this work? Can I add a Smite onto each swing?
From what you've said, it's fine. The Extra Attack feature only means that if you use the Attack Action with your Action, then you attack twice instead of once (or later on, perhaps more).
With regards to Booming Blade though, it's irrelevant. You're not actually using the Attack Action at all (that's for weapon attacks like swinging your sword or shooting a bow). You're using the [Tooltip Not Found] Action instead. Usually, casting Booming Blade takes a full Action, but using your Sorceror Metamagic Subclass Ability for Quickened Spell allows you to do it with a Bonus Action. Since it is a cantrip, it's fine for you to cast it using both your Action and your Bonus Action in the same round.
Of course, the DM can say and do what they want at their table. The official rules say it's fine though - and is the point of Quickened Spell.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm running a hexasorcadin and am in Melle combat I use my action to cast booming blade and make my attack. On my bonus action I Quicken a booming blade and swing.. does this work? Can I add a Smite onto each swing?
Yes, both of those are legal.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
My dm is saying it doesn't work as I don't have 2 attacks
My dm is saying it doesn't work as I don't have 2 attacks
From what you've said, it's fine. The Extra Attack feature only means that if you use the Attack Action with your Action, then you attack twice instead of once (or later on, perhaps more).
With regards to Booming Blade though, it's irrelevant. You're not actually using the Attack Action at all (that's for weapon attacks like swinging your sword or shooting a bow). You're using the [Tooltip Not Found] Action instead. Usually, casting Booming Blade takes a full Action, but using your Sorceror Metamagic Subclass Ability for Quickened Spell allows you to do it with a Bonus Action. Since it is a cantrip, it's fine for you to cast it using both your Action and your Bonus Action in the same round.
Of course, the DM can say and do what they want at their table. The official rules say it's fine though - and is the point of Quickened Spell.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.