They are a Sorcerer, and we are coming to a conundrum of how the overall spell casting works.
The issue being the rule of "If the level 1-9 spell being cast is one which has the casting time of 1 bonus action, if they should so choose, the spellcaster can also cast a cantrip using their action."
They have been casting Melf's Minute Meteors(3rd level) which as a bonus action, after initial cast, drop 2 meteors. Then proceed to cast Magic Missile at 5th level.
I need opinions on whether this should be allowed, or whether I need to address that this can't be done.
The restrictions apply when a character casts a spell. If a character is utilizing a feature or effect of a spell that had previously been cast, then they can still cast a spell provided they have the available action type required for casting the spell.
They are a Sorcerer, and we are coming to a conundrum of how the overall spell casting works.
The issue being the rule of "If the level 1-9 spell being cast is one which has the casting time of 1 bonus action, if they should so choose, the spellcaster can also cast a cantrip using their action."
They have been casting Melf's Minute Meteors(3rd level) which as a bonus action, after initial cast, drop 2 meteors. Then proceed to cast Magic Missile at 5th level.
I need opinions on whether this should be allowed, or whether I need to address that this can't be done.
Round 2: They use a Bonus Action to launch two of meteors, then use their Action to cast Magic Missile.
That's fine. They are not casting Melf's Minute Meteors each round, that's only the first round. After that, they're just interacting with the already-cast spell. They would be able to cast both spells in the same round, but they're casting in separate rounds, so it's fine.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am facing a problem with one of my players.
They are a Sorcerer, and we are coming to a conundrum of how the overall spell casting works.
The issue being the rule of "If the level 1-9 spell being cast is one which has the casting time of 1 bonus action, if they should so choose, the spellcaster can also cast a cantrip using their action."
They have been casting Melf's Minute Meteors(3rd level) which as a bonus action, after initial cast, drop 2 meteors. Then proceed to cast Magic Missile at 5th level.
I need opinions on whether this should be allowed, or whether I need to address that this can't be done.
Yes, it is intended that spells that give an ongoing bonus action option be used alongside leveled spells at a later turn.
The restrictions apply when a character casts a spell. If a character is utilizing a feature or effect of a spell that had previously been cast, then they can still cast a spell provided they have the available action type required for casting the spell.
The player's tactic should be allowed.
To clarify:
Round 1: They cast Melf's Minute Meteors.
Round 2: They use a Bonus Action to launch two of meteors, then use their Action to cast Magic Missile.
That's fine. They are not casting Melf's Minute Meteors each round, that's only the first round. After that, they're just interacting with the already-cast spell. They would be able to cast both spells in the same round, but they're casting in separate rounds, so it's fine.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.