sorry but i have another question...do you actually need the tool proficency to make an enspelled item ? can you not just buy the item (a staff for example) and if you have the spell and arcana - enspell it ?
sorry but i have another question...do you actually need the tool proficency to make an enspelled item ? can you not just buy the item (a staff for example) and if you have the spell and arcana - enspell it ?
According to the rules for this in the Dungeon Master’s Guide, you do need both the Arcana proficiency and a tool proficiency to craft these. Which tool it is depends on whether it’s armor, a weapon, or a staff, but there’s always a tool proficiency required; enspelled items aren’t special in this regard.
many thanks - i guess thematically its for "enspelling as a given item is being made".....but it feels more like a "hurdle" to make it more problematic !! :) my wizard isnt going to have tool proficency to make a sword for example.....
many thanks - i guess thematically its for "enspelling as a given item is being made".....but it feels more like a "hurdle" to make it more problematic !! :) my wizard isnt going to have tool proficency to make a sword for example.....
One could also imagine that to imbue an item with a spell, you need to know a certain amount about how the item works and is constructed.
I think one of the goals of the 2024 update was to make tool proficiencies something people would actually care about and use, and this is part of that. It’s why all of the new backgrounds have a tool proficiency, and there are also more other ways to get them than there used to be.
can I turn it into my arcane fire arm as an artillerist and also store more via spell storing item?
You know, I looked at it and I was sure there was going to be some limitation there to make it so you couldn’t, but I don’t see any. I guess it’s fair game.
I don't have the new Artificer book so I can't say for sure, but I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to stack all that into one item.
Yeah, I would've thought so, but I think RAW it works fine.
Arcane Firearm can be applied to a Rod, Staff, Wand, or Martial Ranged weapon. Spell-Storing Item can be applied to a Simple Weapon, a Martial Weapon, or any item you can use as a spellcasting focus. An Enspelled Weapon, as long as it's a Martial Ranged weapon, fits both criteria, and there's nothing saying they can't both be applied to the same item.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Also, Rogue (Thief) can activate normally-magic-action items with a Bonus Action.
sorry but i have another question...do you actually need the tool proficency to make an enspelled item ? can you not just buy the item (a staff for example) and if you have the spell and arcana - enspell it ?
According to the rules for this in the Dungeon Master’s Guide, you do need both the Arcana proficiency and a tool proficiency to craft these. Which tool it is depends on whether it’s armor, a weapon, or a staff, but there’s always a tool proficiency required; enspelled items aren’t special in this regard.
pronouns: he/she/they
many thanks - i guess thematically its for "enspelling as a given item is being made".....but it feels more like a "hurdle" to make it more problematic !! :) my wizard isnt going to have tool proficency to make a sword for example.....
One could also imagine that to imbue an item with a spell, you need to know a certain amount about how the item works and is constructed.
I think one of the goals of the 2024 update was to make tool proficiencies something people would actually care about and use, and this is part of that. It’s why all of the new backgrounds have a tool proficiency, and there are also more other ways to get them than there used to be.
pronouns: he/she/they
can I turn it into my arcane fire arm as an artillerist and also store more via spell storing item?
I don't have the new Artificer book so I can't say for sure, but I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to stack all that into one item.
You know, I looked at it and I was sure there was going to be some limitation there to make it so you couldn’t, but I don’t see any. I guess it’s fair game.
pronouns: he/she/they
Yeah, I would've thought so, but I think RAW it works fine.
Arcane Firearm can be applied to a Rod, Staff, Wand, or Martial Ranged weapon. Spell-Storing Item can be applied to a Simple Weapon, a Martial Weapon, or any item you can use as a spellcasting focus. An Enspelled Weapon, as long as it's a Martial Ranged weapon, fits both criteria, and there's nothing saying they can't both be applied to the same item.
pronouns: he/she/they