What "ACTION" is used to activate the Bracer of Flying Daggers? Every "Action" begins with the type of action except for this Item. Is it an Atack action, Magic action or Utilize action? Maybe a Bonus action? My group has been discussing this for way to long and searches come up with ever answer you can imagine. I have read the threads posted for this item and they are all the same, opinion based or filling in the gap created in the description - "As a ____?____ action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, making a ranged attack with each dagger" Early in our discussion I figured why argue, just see where it is located on the character sheet once equipped and attuned to. Being it does not appear anywhere on the character sheet my guess is even dnd beyond's people had no idea where to put. I would very much like a ruling on this from a moderator or someone higher up.
The concepts of Magic action and Utilize action were introduced with the 2024 rules update. Magic items from before that, including the one you're talking about, usually didn't specify a particular type of action because it didn't matter a great deal under the 2014 rules.
When using items like this in the 2024 rules, it's up to the DM to decide how to activate them, but a Magic action is probably a good option in most cases.
Every "Action" begins with the type of action except for this Item.
That’s not technically true. While many features do indeed rely on taking one of the standard named actions available to all characters, there’s also a vast number of features like this that define their own actions. Since it’s not, say, the Attack action, it would not work in conjunction with any feature that requires the player to take that action. The most important part is that a character can take only one action on their turn.
For context, the discussion is whether or not a monk would get the "Extra Attack" after using this item, or if it can be used as the "Extra Attack" as the item reads as both a ranged attack and the ambiguous "action"
For context, the discussion is whether or not a monk would get the "Extra Attack" after using this item, or if it can be used as the "Extra Attack" as the item reads as both a ranged attack and the ambiguous "action"
Extra Attack only works if you take the Attack action. 2014-style magic items like this that are activated with "an action" aren't using the Attack action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
What "ACTION" is used to activate the Bracer of Flying Daggers?
Every "Action" begins with the type of action except for this Item. Is it an Atack action, Magic action or Utilize action? Maybe a Bonus action?
My group has been discussing this for way to long and searches come up with ever answer you can imagine. I have read the threads posted for this item and they are all the same, opinion based or filling in the gap created in the description - "As a ____?____ action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, making a ranged attack with each dagger"
Early in our discussion I figured why argue, just see where it is located on the character sheet once equipped and attuned to. Being it does not appear anywhere on the character sheet my guess is even dnd beyond's people had no idea where to put.
I would very much like a ruling on this from a moderator or someone higher up.
The concepts of Magic action and Utilize action were introduced with the 2024 rules update. Magic items from before that, including the one you're talking about, usually didn't specify a particular type of action because it didn't matter a great deal under the 2014 rules.
When using items like this in the 2024 rules, it's up to the DM to decide how to activate them, but a Magic action is probably a good option in most cases.
pronouns: he/she/they
It's your Action for the round. Updated to 2024 it would be the Magic Action.
That’s not technically true. While many features do indeed rely on taking one of the standard named actions available to all characters, there’s also a vast number of features like this that define their own actions. Since it’s not, say, the Attack action, it would not work in conjunction with any feature that requires the player to take that action. The most important part is that a character can take only one action on their turn.
Aside from weapons, magic items in general don’t add anything to a character’s Actions tab.
Need help with D&D Beyond? Come ask in the official D&D server on Discord: https://discord.gg/qWzGhwBjYr
For context, the discussion is whether or not a monk would get the "Extra Attack" after using this item, or if it can be used as the "Extra Attack" as the item reads as both a ranged attack and the ambiguous "action"
Extra Attack only works if you take the Attack action. 2014-style magic items like this that are activated with "an action" aren't using the Attack action.
pronouns: he/she/they