I am trying to figure how to roll to remove stirges from ones body. Is it an automatic hit, strength check to pull off? Do the stirges AC drop to 10? Do I come up with a DC? What have others done?
There's no roll needed. All a character needs to do to detach a stirge is to declare that they're using their action to do so, it's an automatic success. Alternatively, they have 13 AC and 5 HP (2024 rules) or 14 AC and 2 HP (2014 rules)- a single attack of any kind that successfully hits them is almost always going to kill them, at which point they detach automatically.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
6thLyranGuard is correct, as you see in the Stat Block for a Strige, it states "can detach the stirge as an action".
Cheers!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty. Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers; Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas. Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
I am trying to figure how to roll to remove stirges from ones body. Is it an automatic hit, strength check to pull off? Do the stirges AC drop to 10? Do I come up with a DC? What have others done?
Anyone can remove it as an action or it can detach itself. No roll needed unless the intent is to kill it while attached.
I am trying to figure how to roll to remove stirges from ones body. Is it an automatic hit, strength check to pull off? Do the stirges AC drop to 10? Do I come up with a DC? What have others done?
There's no roll needed. All a character needs to do to detach a stirge is to declare that they're using their action to do so, it's an automatic success. Alternatively, they have 13 AC and 5 HP (2024 rules) or 14 AC and 2 HP (2014 rules)- a single attack of any kind that successfully hits them is almost always going to kill them, at which point they detach automatically.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Greetings Darkhunter1980,
6thLyranGuard is correct, as you see in the Stat Block for a Strige, it states "can detach the stirge as an action".
Cheers!
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty.
Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers;
Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas.
Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
Anyone can remove it as an action or it can detach itself. No roll needed unless the intent is to kill it while attached.
Thank you