If i was to use find familiar and cast it as a spider small spider could I use that familiar in the instance of say a bar to crawl along the feet of an enemy or potential enemy and cast immovable object on their shoes and pin them to the floor and if I could do that is it possible that by doing that it would negate any dexterity save that they would have which is the second question right there if I was to immobilize them with immovable object does it meaning that they cannot use a dexterity saving throw say against Fireball for scorcher or any other thing that you would have to use a saving throw dexterity saving throw or against like a spell called the disintegrate they have a saving throw for the spell of dexterity but if they're immobilized by immovable object would they get their saving throw?
To answer your first question it depends is it a regular boot or shoe or is it a part of s knights armor set since immovable object only works on items that weigh no more than ten pounds and to answer your second question keep in mind its a shoe the person could just take it off with no dexerity or strength check. however if the guy is wearing socks that could work since there wrap around his foot but in all honesty just cast it on there shirt if there not wearing armor or maybe if there wearing light armor pants and cloaks are also valid but the no save idea depends on the dm make sure to ask him first.
The term object usually refers to an object not worn or carried by a creature.
Even if I allowed that spell to target shoes worn by a creature at my table, I'd only do so while granting said creature a saving throw against Immovable Object.
I would then give the creature the restrained condition, and have them repeat the save for Immovable Object at the end of their turns.
Please use punctuation and proper grammar, I can barely tell what you're saying.
One, immovable object can only be cast on objects, so no on the casting it on the familiar. The Familiar is a creature, not an object, and thus is not a valid target.
Two, even if you did pin them like that? As written, they wouldn't have any disadvantage or anything. But for rule of cool, I would probably give them disadvantage since you're still trying something creative.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Formerly Devan Avalon.
Trying to get your physical content on Beyond is like going to Microsoft and saying "I have a physical Playstation disk, give me a digital Xbox version!"
The term object usually refers to an object not worn or carried by a creature.
Even if I allowed that spell to target shoes worn by a creature at my table, I'd only do so while granting said creature a saving throw against Immovable Object.
I would then give the creature the restrained condition, and have them repeat the save for Immovable Object at the end of their turns.
I think grappled seems more appropriate as they're only restrained in that they can't move anywhere. Most of their body is still free to move and make attacks, and since your attacks will be focused where they can't move, their defense will also be focused there. As for the dex save, that would generally mean curling into a ball so less of your body is exposed to the fire, which still works fine.
Having said all that, I wouldn't allow it at my table, worn/carried objects can't be targeted except by spells designed for that purpose, such as heat metal or locate object. If I were going to allow it, it would be a melee spell attack to deliver it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If i was to use find familiar and cast it as a spider small spider could I use that familiar in the instance of say a bar to crawl along the feet of an enemy or potential enemy and cast immovable object on their shoes and pin them to the floor and if I could do that is it possible that by doing that it would negate any dexterity save that they would have which is the second question right there if I was to immobilize them with immovable object does it meaning that they cannot use a dexterity saving throw say against Fireball for scorcher or any other thing that you would have to use a saving throw dexterity saving throw or against like a spell called the disintegrate they have a saving throw for the spell of dexterity but if they're immobilized by immovable object would they get their saving throw?
To answer your first question it depends is it a regular boot or shoe or is it a part of s knights armor set since immovable object only works on items that weigh no more than ten pounds and to answer your second question keep in mind its a shoe the person could just take it off with no dexerity or strength check. however if the guy is wearing socks that could work since there wrap around his foot but in all honesty just cast it on there shirt if there not wearing armor or maybe if there wearing light armor pants and cloaks are also valid but the no save idea depends on the dm make sure to ask him first.
Sounds like a cool idea to me! I'd probably allow it, depending on the fight.
The term object usually refers to an object not worn or carried by a creature.
Even if I allowed that spell to target shoes worn by a creature at my table, I'd only do so while granting said creature a saving throw against Immovable Object.
I would then give the creature the restrained condition, and have them repeat the save for Immovable Object at the end of their turns.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules
Please use punctuation and proper grammar, I can barely tell what you're saying.
One, immovable object can only be cast on objects, so no on the casting it on the familiar. The Familiar is a creature, not an object, and thus is not a valid target.
Two, even if you did pin them like that? As written, they wouldn't have any disadvantage or anything. But for rule of cool, I would probably give them disadvantage since you're still trying something creative.
Formerly Devan Avalon.
Trying to get your physical content on Beyond is like going to Microsoft and saying "I have a physical Playstation disk, give me a digital Xbox version!"
you can cast spell's with a range of touch through familiars. he's not casting the spell on his familiar.
I think grappled seems more appropriate as they're only restrained in that they can't move anywhere. Most of their body is still free to move and make attacks, and since your attacks will be focused where they can't move, their defense will also be focused there. As for the dex save, that would generally mean curling into a ball so less of your body is exposed to the fire, which still works fine.
Having said all that, I wouldn't allow it at my table, worn/carried objects can't be targeted except by spells designed for that purpose, such as heat metal or locate object. If I were going to allow it, it would be a melee spell attack to deliver it.