Having issues with my artificer character sheet. Sometime between now and Friday, the system no longer lets me see any info on infusions, it states "to unlock this infusion, visit the market place to view purchase options" I purchased the class, but not the whole book.
Having issues with my artificer character sheet. Sometime between now and Friday, the system no longer lets me see any info on infusions, it states "to unlock this infusion, visit the market place to view purchase options" I purchased the class, but not the whole book.
Yes I am sure I am signed this, it allows me to edit the character. When in in character editor, under the subclass, under artificer infusions,it allows me to see which infusions I've chosen, and change the infusions, however it does not give any description whatsoever underneath the choices.
Yes I am sure I am signed this, it allows me to edit the character. When in in character editor, under the subclass, under artificer infusions,it allows me to see which infusions I've chosen, and change the infusions, however it does not give any description whatsoever underneath the choices.
Ah! I misunderstood. Hopefully someone can come along and help soon! As a side note I’m playing my first Artificer this Friday!...
Artificer infusions say I need to purchase the content to use the infusions. I already have the whole Eberron Rising book purchased
Hi there,
can you let us know what infusion you're trying to add when you are redirected to the marketplace?
I hope this doesn't come off as flippant or unhelpful, but quite honestly every Infusion I've attempted to make use of. While the DND Beyond character sheet will indeed allow the use of said Infusions, it locks the benefit's description behind a big, green store purchase context button whether the account has purchased the content or not. See below.
Yes I am sure I am signed this, it allows me to edit the character. When in in character editor, under the subclass, under artificer infusions,it allows me to see which infusions I've chosen, and change the infusions, however it does not give any description whatsoever underneath the choices.
Ah! I misunderstood. Hopefully someone can come along and help soon! As a side note I’m playing my first Artificer this Friday!...
It's been a lot of fun, though I miss hanging spells as a Battlesmith. I want to play an artilerist artificer with a Goose(cat from Captain Marvel) as my arcane turret.
Artificer infusions say I need to purchase the content to use the infusions. I already have the whole Eberron Rising book purchased
Hi there,
can you let us know what infusion you're trying to add when you are redirected to the marketplace?
I hope this doesn't come off as flippant or unhelpful, but quite honestly every Infusion I've attempted to make use of. While the DND Beyond character sheet will indeed allow the use of said Infusions, it locks the benefit's description behind a big, green store purchase context button whether the account has purchased the content or not. See below.
I'm pretty sure this means you either haven't purchased the content, or you're not logged in.
edit: Unless this is straight up a bug. But, I'm playing an artificer, I have purchased the content, and I don't get this message. I originally built my Artificer in UA, and when the official content was released, had to build it back up again from official content.
Just so you know, the bonus does not seem to be applying to the Scorching Ray spell granted to me by the Circlet of Blasting (fire damage).
So I'm gonna revive this discussion, though it may be a little murky, and I'm not trying to justify this for my benefit, but just what the rules essentially lay out. Circlet of Blasting (and other magical items) should potentially still use the Alchemist's Alchemical Savant feature (adding the user's INT bonus when using the item) as long as the magic item says "use an action to cast the <spell name> spell it".
For the reasons below (emphasis mine):
Alchemical Savant
At 5th level, you develop masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1).
So I take this to mean when you cast any spell ... any time the rules say "you cast a spell". Not necessarily any time you cast one of your own prepared spells. You just have to use your Alchemist Supplies (which, as an Artificer Alchemist, I'm always doing).
Circlet of Blasting
While wearing this circlet, you can use an action to cast the scorching ray spell with it. When you make the spell's attacks, you do so with an attack bonus of +5. The circlet can't be used this way again until the next dawn.
It doesn't say anywhere on the circlet that you can't use a spell focus.
In the DMG, it states the following under "Activating a Magic Item":
Spells
Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no componentsunless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Certain items make exceptions to these rules, changing the casting time, duration, or other parts of a spell.
So activating the magic item's spell use doesn't require components (which I take to mean all of the components including Material, or a Spellcasting Focus), it doesn't say you cannot use components.
My takeaway, mechanically and thematically, is that I'm casting a fire spell, and while casting it, using my alchemical knowledge and the chemical tools from my kit to enhance the fire effect being cast.
I have access to the Eberron content in the character creator when the slider is turn OFF (red). Turning the Eberron Slider ON (grey) removes them from my list of available options. It took me a while to figure this out. This happens on any pc or mobile I try this out.
And after a bit of test, it appears that my Magic the gathering content is exactly the same.
Or am I wrong in thinking that red is allowing the content?
I have access to the Eberron content in the character creator when the slider is turn OFF (red). Turning the Eberron Slider ON (grey) removes them from my list of available options. It took me a while to figure this out. This happens on any pc or mobile I try this out.
And after a bit of test, it appears that my Magic the gathering content is exactly the same.
Or am I wrong in thinking that red is allowing the content?
The slider to the right-hand side is "On", to the left (faded grey) is "Off". The colour will change based on the theme colour selected for your character sheet, though red is the D&D Beyond default theme.
So activating the magic item's spell use doesn't require components (which I take to mean all of the components including Material, or a Spellcasting Focus), it doesn't say you cannot use components.
My takeaway, mechanically and thematically, is that I'm casting a fire spell, and while casting it, using my alchemical knowledge and the chemical tools from my kit to enhance the fire effect being cast.
Mechanically, this is incorrect. You cannot optionally add components to spells where they are not required, even if you pick through the game's natural language with a lawyer's fine-toothed comb. However, in this case, the text is also clear:
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell.
A spell cast through a magic item does not specify components and therefore you cannot use a spellcasting focus.
There are other actual bugs that need to be prioritized (like the entire Steel Defender). Even if you convince your DM, you can just customize the magic item entry on your sheet to reflect your homebrew.
So activating the magic item's spell use doesn't require components (which I take to mean all of the components including Material, or a Spellcasting Focus), it doesn't say you cannot use components.
My takeaway, mechanically and thematically, is that I'm casting a fire spell, and while casting it, using my alchemical knowledge and the chemical tools from my kit to enhance the fire effect being cast.
Mechanically, this is incorrect. You cannot optionally add components to spells where they are not required, even if you pick through the game's natural language with a lawyer's fine-toothed comb. However, in this case, the text is also clear:
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell.
A spell cast through a magic item does not specify components and therefore you cannot use a spellcasting focus.
There are other actual bugs that need to be prioritized (like the entire Steel Defender). Even if you convince your DM, you can just customize the magic item entry on your sheet to reflect your homebrew.
Well, the player is casting a spell that does specify components, but then the item says it "does not require" them. It doesn't say you cannot use them, just that they aren't required to use.
But in another thread I started about this particular discussion, the result was: According to some subtle language in the Artificer's Spellcasting feature, their use of Alchemists Tools as a spellcasting focus would only apply to their own Artificer spells ... so the whole idea of using Tools with the Alchemical Savant feature for anything other than their own spells seems moot (unless house ruled).
Bringing back the Ebberon issue, that slider makes no difference in my issue. I even deleted all levels of artificer thinking perhaps I had UA still attached, and it still persists showing that I have to go to the marketplace. Screenshots showing that I purchased the class below. Is it somehow possible since this is a Brand New class, that purchasing the subclasses only doesn't give you the core class?
Bringing back the Ebberon issue, that slider makes no difference in my issue. I even deleted all levels of artificer thinking perhaps I had UA still attached, and it still persists showing that I have to go to the marketplace. Screenshots showing that I purchased the class below. Is it somehow possible since this is a Brand New class, that purchasing the subclasses only doesn't give you the core class?
Having issues with my artificer character sheet. Sometime between now and Friday, the system no longer lets me see any info on infusions, it states "to unlock this infusion, visit the market place to view purchase options" I purchased the class, but not the whole book.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/profile/R3dmason/characters/17105819
It works for me. Are you sure you’re signed into DDB?...
Yes I am sure I am signed this, it allows me to edit the character. When in in character editor, under the subclass, under artificer infusions,it allows me to see which infusions I've chosen, and change the infusions, however it does not give any description whatsoever underneath the choices.
Ah! I misunderstood. Hopefully someone can come along and help soon! As a side note I’m playing my first Artificer this Friday!...
Artificer infusions say I need to purchase the content to use the infusions. I already have the whole Eberron Rising book purchased
Hi there,
can you let us know what infusion you're trying to add when you are redirected to the marketplace?
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
I hope this doesn't come off as flippant or unhelpful, but quite honestly every Infusion I've attempted to make use of. While the DND Beyond character sheet will indeed allow the use of said Infusions, it locks the benefit's description behind a big, green store purchase context button whether the account has purchased the content or not. See below.
As above, it is ALL infusions.
It's been a lot of fun, though I miss hanging spells as a Battlesmith. I want to play an artilerist artificer with a Goose(cat from Captain Marvel) as my arcane turret.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/TVxnTiiGvrCqGLmFA
Here is a different photo, from equipment. On my phone and can't just paste it here.
I'm pretty sure this means you either haven't purchased the content, or you're not logged in.
edit: Unless this is straight up a bug. But, I'm playing an artificer, I have purchased the content, and I don't get this message. I originally built my Artificer in UA, and when the official content was released, had to build it back up again from official content.
So I'm gonna revive this discussion, though it may be a little murky, and I'm not trying to justify this for my benefit, but just what the rules essentially lay out. Circlet of Blasting (and other magical items) should potentially still use the Alchemist's Alchemical Savant feature (adding the user's INT bonus when using the item) as long as the magic item says "use an action to cast the <spell name> spell it".
For the reasons below (emphasis mine):
So I take this to mean when you cast any spell ... any time the rules say "you cast a spell". Not necessarily any time you cast one of your own prepared spells. You just have to use your Alchemist Supplies (which, as an Artificer Alchemist, I'm always doing).
It doesn't say anywhere on the circlet that you can't use a spell focus.
In the DMG, it states the following under "Activating a Magic Item":
So activating the magic item's spell use doesn't require components (which I take to mean all of the components including Material, or a Spellcasting Focus), it doesn't say you cannot use components.
My takeaway, mechanically and thematically, is that I'm casting a fire spell, and while casting it, using my alchemical knowledge and the chemical tools from my kit to enhance the fire effect being cast.
I have access to the Eberron content in the character creator when the slider is turn OFF (red). Turning the Eberron Slider ON (grey) removes them from my list of available options.
It took me a while to figure this out. This happens on any pc or mobile I try this out.
And after a bit of test, it appears that my Magic the gathering content is exactly the same.
Or am I wrong in thinking that red is allowing the content?
The slider to the right-hand side is "On", to the left (faded grey) is "Off". The colour will change based on the theme colour selected for your character sheet, though red is the D&D Beyond default theme.
Thank you, I feel silly for not having understood that. When browsing Dndbeyond you mostly see light grey/brown, so I thought that meant inclusive.
Mechanically, this is incorrect. You cannot optionally add components to spells where they are not required, even if you pick through the game's natural language with a lawyer's fine-toothed comb. However, in this case, the text is also clear:
A spell cast through a magic item does not specify components and therefore you cannot use a spellcasting focus.
There are other actual bugs that need to be prioritized (like the entire Steel Defender). Even if you convince your DM, you can just customize the magic item entry on your sheet to reflect your homebrew.
Well, the player is casting a spell that does specify components, but then the item says it "does not require" them. It doesn't say you cannot use them, just that they aren't required to use.
But in another thread I started about this particular discussion, the result was: According to some subtle language in the Artificer's Spellcasting feature, their use of Alchemists Tools as a spellcasting focus would only apply to their own Artificer spells ... so the whole idea of using Tools with the Alchemical Savant feature for anything other than their own spells seems moot (unless house ruled).
Bringing back the Ebberon issue, that slider makes no difference in my issue. I even deleted all levels of artificer thinking perhaps I had UA still attached, and it still persists showing that I have to go to the marketplace. Screenshots showing that I purchased the class below. Is it somehow possible since this is a Brand New class, that purchasing the subclasses only doesn't give you the core class?
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Zg4xcTkSQYHyuC1FA
https://photos.app.goo.gl/d8YYB97UrW3SphpW6
Hello! Could you please link one of your characters where you're trying to add the Artificer class?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/profile/R3dmason/characters/17105819