The discussion came up the other day that an NoF is not considered a consumable. I'm looking for a direct answer on this. I understand potions are consumable, but with a NoF, your physically removing a ball that is destroyed in the blast leaving an empty necklace once the last one is thrown. Wouldn't this be considered a consumable? There has been a bit of debate on this one.
Officially for AL purposes, limited use magic items are NOT consumables. This includes the Necklace of Fireballs and Nolzur's Marvellous Pigments among others (I looked into it because I have the pigments on one character and was hoping it did not count as a magic item ... unfortunately for me, it does :) ).
Here are the citations from the Season 8 FAQ (Season 9 doesn't seem to be out yet but I don't expect this to change).
"What Are Consumable Magic Items? The DMG defines scrolls and potions as consumable items. The Adventurers League expands this to include magical ammunition—that is any items with the weapon (arrow, bolt, or sling bullet) category. These items can’t be traded; they can be given to other characters to use during a session but must be returned at the end of the adventure if not used.
What Are Permanent Magic Items? Permanent magic items are any magic items that aren’t consumable magic items."
Scrolls, potions and ammo are considered consumables. Any other magic item is NOT a consumable.
However, when an item with limited charges runs out then it no longer counts against your magic item limit.
The discussion came up the other day that an NoF is not considered a consumable. I'm looking for a direct answer on this. I understand potions are consumable, but with a NoF, your physically removing a ball that is destroyed in the blast leaving an empty necklace once the last one is thrown. Wouldn't this be considered a consumable? There has been a bit of debate on this one.
Thanks!
The Necklace of Fireballs is indeed modelled as a consumable on D&D Beyond.
A fully charged necklace has 9 charges and, as you noted, it doesn't recharge.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Officially for AL purposes, limited use magic items are NOT consumables. This includes the Necklace of Fireballs and Nolzur's Marvellous Pigments among others (I looked into it because I have the pigments on one character and was hoping it did not count as a magic item ... unfortunately for me, it does :) ).
Here are the citations from the Season 8 FAQ (Season 9 doesn't seem to be out yet but I don't expect this to change).
"What Are Consumable Magic Items?
The DMG defines scrolls and potions as consumable items. The Adventurers League expands this to include magical ammunition—that is any items with the weapon (arrow, bolt, or sling bullet) category. These items can’t be traded; they can be given to other characters to use during a session but must be returned at the end of the adventure if not used.
What Are Permanent Magic Items?
Permanent magic items are any magic items that aren’t consumable magic items."
Scrolls, potions and ammo are considered consumables. Any other magic item is NOT a consumable.
However, when an item with limited charges runs out then it no longer counts against your magic item limit.
Thank you!