Hi all, I come from 2e and I am trying to get familiar with 5e rules and mechanics. I have 2 questions about Haste:
1. I have a PC playing a Sorcerer/Bard. He has the third level Haste spell. Using Meta Magic, can he Twin the Haste spell? It's a concentration spell so it should count as 2 spells and not 1 if it's twinned.
2. Can the caster use Haste on himself and still perform an approved action on the same turn because he is Hasted?
- Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
1: Its still one spell, just with multiple targets! So there's only one concentration check but if the caster fails it, they lose haste for both targets.
2: Absolutely! Just as long as the action is one of the ones in the spell description.
As a side note! Remember Haste has a drawback. When the spell ends (either by duration, or the caster loses concentration) the targets are stunned for their next turn! This comes into play a lot more often than you would think!
1. I think it is just one spell, split to two targets. Therefore, it is one concentration for both. If he loses concentration, haste drops for both targets. At least, that is how I would rule, absent any "sage advice" I haven't noticed.
2. Yes, I believe he can cast it on himself and, once hasted, use the attack (with weapon), dash, etc. actions as his 2nd action. Again, that is at least how I would rule.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all, I come from 2e and I am trying to get familiar with 5e rules and mechanics. I have 2 questions about Haste:
1. I have a PC playing a Sorcerer/Bard. He has the third level Haste spell. Using Meta Magic, can he Twin the Haste spell? It's a concentration spell so it should count as 2 spells and not 1 if it's twinned.
2. Can the caster use Haste on himself and still perform an approved action on the same turn because he is Hasted?
- Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
1: Its still one spell, just with multiple targets! So there's only one concentration check but if the caster fails it, they lose haste for both targets.
2: Absolutely! Just as long as the action is one of the ones in the spell description.
As a side note! Remember Haste has a drawback. When the spell ends (either by duration, or the caster loses concentration) the targets are stunned for their next turn! This comes into play a lot more often than you would think!
1. I think it is just one spell, split to two targets. Therefore, it is one concentration for both. If he loses concentration, haste drops for both targets. At least, that is how I would rule, absent any "sage advice" I haven't noticed.
2. Yes, I believe he can cast it on himself and, once hasted, use the attack (with weapon), dash, etc. actions as his 2nd action. Again, that is at least how I would rule.
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.