Just looked at this spell and realized there is nothing that says you cant cast it on yourself for +1 ac, and I guess -1 damage on odd damage roles?
You can also cast it on multiple targets, it just can't be cast on the same target twice, and the caster also can not be the target of another warding bond spell.
Just looked at this spell and realized there is nothing that says you cant cast it on yourself for +1 ac, and I guess -1 damage on odd damage roles?
You can also cast it on multiple targets, it just can't be cast on the same target twice, and the caster also can not be the target of another warding bond spell.
Is that what you are getting from the text?
Yeah but a plus 1 is not that much (mage armor or stoneskin to better).Yeah.
Just looked at this spell and realized there is nothing that says you cant cast it on yourself for +1 ac, and I guess -1 damage on odd damage roles?
You can also cast it on multiple targets, it just can't be cast on the same target twice, and the caster also can not be the target of another warding bond spell.
Is that what you are getting from the text?
Also: If you have res fire and get hit with a fireball, you won’t get half damage anymore.
Shield of faith is concentration, and lasts 1 hour compared to 1 minute
-It's not an either/or scenario, because warding isn't conc, you can have both or you can use it with bless since it's an overall stronger use of concentration. -Warding is preloaded, Shield of faith is BA, delaying your spiritual weapon 1 round.
I was planning on taking the spell as a divine soul, sorlock so I could use it in combo with twin spell heals, and gift of the ever living ones, so I would already have the spell selected for that. I was just thinking that precasting a spell like this that isn't concentration is really efficient action economy.
Shield of faith is concentration, and lasts 1 hour compared to 1 minute
For what you want it is still better.
-It's not an either/or scenario, because warding isn't conc, you can have both or you can use it with bless since it's an overall stronger use of concentration. -Warding is preloaded, Shield of faith is BA, delaying your spiritual weapon 1 round.
Well, you didn't tell us you also wanted to use bless and/or spiritual weapon.
I was planning on taking the spell as a divine soul, sorlock so I could use it in combo with twin spell heals, and gift of the ever living ones, so I would already have the spell selected for that. I was just thinking that precasting a spell like this that isn't concentration is really efficient action economy.
It might be, it might not be. It's more expensive, resource wise.
-It's not an either/or scenario, because warding isn't conc, you can have both or you can use it with bless since it's an overall stronger use of concentration. -Warding is preloaded, Shield of faith is BA, delaying your spiritual weapon 1 round.
Well, you didn't tell us you also wanted to use bless and/or spiritual weapon.
Yeah, I didn't mention it because I wasn't really asking for advice on what a better spell would be to cast.
Yeah, 2ac is better than 1 ac, but your concentration spell is a major thing, a sorlock would have to give up using Hex, bless, or spirit guardians at a higher level. All of those spells are going to be way more of a priority than shield of faith.
Sorlocks also tend to use their BA every round as is with Hex, HBC, quicken spell, spiritual weapon, healing word, so to cast shield of faith you have to give up doing one of those things. This does matter for sorlocks since you can put out crazy damage once you have hex,hbc up, and then quicken your blasts.
For this sorlock the spell slot level of 1st vs 2nd doesn't matter as much is because to get pact of the chain you need warlock level 3, which means you get your 2nd level warlock slots back on a short rest.
Just looked at this spell and realized there is nothing that says you cant cast it on yourself for +1 ac, and I guess -1 damage on odd damage roles?
You can also cast it on multiple targets, it just can't be cast on the same target twice, and the caster also can not be the target of another warding bond spell.
Is that what you are getting from the text?
By minus -1 damage I'm assuming you mean resistance? Also not sure why people are discussing what's better versus your actual question, my take is below and hopefully it helps.
For RAW, I don't think you can cast it on yourself.. or at least I'm not sure you'd want to anyways. While it doesn't state the target must be another creature, it seems its assumed its another creature given language such as "between you and the target" and "each time it takes damage, you take the same amount of damage". Personally I'd rule you are not able to cast this spell on yourself, or if you could would you have resistance but also take the damage twice? For simplicity I would limit it to casting it on another willing creature.
It also says "It also ends if the spell is cast again on either of the connected creatures" which I read as neither creatures affected by the warding bond spell can become the target of a new one - IE you can't stack warding bonds. Since its a touch spell, the caster is always one of the connected creatures - unless maybe it were cast from a Ring of Spell Storingor something like that where another creature originally cast the spell. It doesn't mean the caster just cant be the target, if a few casters were trying to stack warding bond on one creature it would just end the old spell every time a new one is cast. Regardless again for simplicities sake I feel like most DM's would say - you can only cast the spell on another willing creature and the spell also always affects self (the caster).
In general you can't stack damage resistances, the PHB section regarding damage in combat states - "Multiple instances of resistance or vulnerability that affect the same damage type count as only one instance. For example, if a creature has resistance to fire damage as well as resistance to all nonmagical damage, the damage of a nonmagical fire is reduced by half against the creature, not reduced by three-quarters."
Just looked at this spell and realized there is nothing that says you cant cast it on yourself for +1 ac, and I guess -1 damage on odd damage roles?
You can also cast it on multiple targets, it just can't be cast on the same target twice, and the caster also can not be the target of another warding bond spell.
Is that what you are getting from the text?
By minus -1 damage I'm assuming you mean resistance? Also not sure why people are discussing what's better versus your actual question, my take is below and hopefully it helps.
For RAW, I don't think you can cast it on yourself.. or at least I'm not sure you'd want to anyways. While it doesn't state the target must be another creature, it seems its assumed its another creature given language such as "between you and the target" and "each time it takes damage, you take the same amount of damage". Personally I'd rule you are not able to cast this spell on yourself, or if you could would you have resistance but also take the damage twice? For simplicity I would limit it to casting it on another willing creature.
It also says "It also ends if the spell is cast again on either of the connected creatures" which I read as neither creatures affected by the warding bond spell can become the target of a new one - IE you can't stack warding bonds. Since its a touch spell, the caster is always one of the connected creatures - unless maybe it were cast from a Ring of Spell Storingor something like that where another creature originally cast the spell. It doesn't mean the caster just cant be the target, if a few casters were trying to stack warding bond on one creature it would just end the old spell every time a new one is cast. Regardless again for simplicities sake I feel like most DM's would say - you can only cast the spell on another willing creature and the spell also always affects self (the caster).
In general you can't stack damage resistances, the PHB section regarding damage in combat states - "Multiple instances of resistance or vulnerability that affect the same damage type count as only one instance. For example, if a creature has resistance to fire damage as well as resistance to all nonmagical damage, the damage of a nonmagical fire is reduced by half against the creature, not reduced by three-quarters."
By -1 damage, I mean with resistance take half rounded down, if you take that rounded down damage 2x you end up with -1 damage on odd damage rolls.
So yeah like you said in that 2nd part, you'd get resistance, but take the damage 2x.
The way you could cast it twice has is because of the spells "target". The target is what you touch for the touch spell. Cast first on yourself, and then on a party member, neither person was the "target" of the spell more than once.
No one in that scenario has resistance more than once from the spell so it wont really matter, unless the self caster already had resistance and now it it canceled out because you'd take all damage 2x.
It's clearly not meant to be cast on self, but as written doesn't specifically forbid it. Hope you don't run into a monster that negates resistance (such as a spellcaster with Elemental Adept); taking 200% damage from all their attacks might be a problem.
-It's not an either/or scenario, because warding isn't conc, you can have both or you can use it with bless since it's an overall stronger use of concentration. -Warding is preloaded, Shield of faith is BA, delaying your spiritual weapon 1 round.
Well, you didn't tell us you also wanted to use bless and/or spiritual weapon.
Yeah, I didn't mention it because I wasn't really asking for advice on what a better spell would be to cast.
We still can't take into account things that you don't tell us.
Yeah, 2ac is better than 1 ac, but your concentration spell is a major thing, a sorlock would have to give up using Hex, bless, or spirit guardians at a higher level. All of those spells are going to be way more of a priority than shield of faith.
So you have to choose. That's part of the game.
Sorlocks also tend to use their BA every round as is with Hex, HBC, quicken spell, spiritual weapon, healing word, so to cast shield of faith you have to give up doing one of those things. This does matter for sorlocks since you can put out crazy damage once you have hex,hbc up, and then quicken your blasts.
So you get slightly less damage one turn in exchange for better AC? I guess you have to choose what's more important for the single round where you need to cast SoF.
For this sorlock the spell slot level of 1st vs 2nd doesn't matter as much is because to get pact of the chain you need warlock level 3, which means you get your 2nd level warlock slots back on a short rest.
Well, it matters during the fight since you can't take short rests during a fight...
On the Material cost: You need to spend 100gp on 2 platinum rings, but they aren't destroyed when the spell is cast. The same rings can be used again for future castings, if the caster still has them. Still, 100gp IS a lot of a cash for a low-level character.
On the spell's purpose: I think this spell is best suited for escort missions, when the escorted person isn't meant to engage in the action. Cast the spell, tell them to stay close, and to use the Dodge Action every round.
Maybe I missed something in your character description, but the spell looks like it only exists for Clerics, Peace Domain(Cleric), Oath of the Crown(Paladin), and Battle Smith(Artificer). It's not RAW on the spell lists for Sorc or Warlock.
Not that it matters as this is a simple instance of DM fiat can change that.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Maybe I missed something in your character description, but the spell looks like it only exists for Clerics, Peace Domain(Cleric), Oath of the Crown(Paladin), and Battle Smith(Artificer). It's not RAW on the spell lists for Sorc or Warlock.
Not that it matters as this is a simple instance of DM fiat can change that.
Yeah, RAW, definately not on the spells list for that character.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Nope, not at all. I did. I absolutely misread your response.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Just looked at this spell and realized there is nothing that says you cant cast it on yourself for +1 ac, and I guess -1 damage on odd damage roles?
You can also cast it on multiple targets, it just can't be cast on the same target twice, and the caster also can not be the target of another warding bond spell.
Is that what you are getting from the text?
Yeah but a plus 1 is not that much (mage armor or stoneskin to better).Yeah.
Check out my homebrew subclasses spells magic items feats monsters races
i am a sauce priest
help create a world here
Yeah, but +1 ac is still worth having for a big fight. And mage armor isn't going to help for clerics or paladins anyhow.
Also: If you have res fire and get hit with a fireball, you won’t get half damage anymore.
I’d rather keep the second spell slot and just cast shield of faith. Less effective if you lose concentration, but otherwise better.
At lower levels the 50GP platinum earrings might be hard to come by too.
If you can have warding bond you can probably have shield of faith which is better.
Shield of faith is concentration, and lasts 1 hour compared to 1 minute
-It's not an either/or scenario, because warding isn't conc, you can have both or you can use it with bless since it's an overall stronger use of concentration.
-Warding is preloaded, Shield of faith is BA, delaying your spiritual weapon 1 round.
I was planning on taking the spell as a divine soul, sorlock so I could use it in combo with twin spell heals, and gift of the ever living ones, so I would already have the spell selected for that. I was just thinking that precasting a spell like this that isn't concentration is really efficient action economy.
For what you want it is still better.
Well, you didn't tell us you also wanted to use bless and/or spiritual weapon.
It might be, it might not be. It's more expensive, resource wise.
Yeah, I didn't mention it because I wasn't really asking for advice on what a better spell would be to cast.
Yeah, 2ac is better than 1 ac, but your concentration spell is a major thing, a sorlock would have to give up using Hex, bless, or spirit guardians at a higher level. All of those spells are going to be way more of a priority than shield of faith.
Sorlocks also tend to use their BA every round as is with Hex, HBC, quicken spell, spiritual weapon, healing word, so to cast shield of faith you have to give up doing one of those things. This does matter for sorlocks since you can put out crazy damage once you have hex,hbc up, and then quicken your blasts.
For this sorlock the spell slot level of 1st vs 2nd doesn't matter as much is because to get pact of the chain you need warlock level 3, which means you get your 2nd level warlock slots back on a short rest.
By minus -1 damage I'm assuming you mean resistance? Also not sure why people are discussing what's better versus your actual question, my take is below and hopefully it helps.
For RAW, I don't think you can cast it on yourself.. or at least I'm not sure you'd want to anyways. While it doesn't state the target must be another creature, it seems its assumed its another creature given language such as "between you and the target" and "each time it takes damage, you take the same amount of damage". Personally I'd rule you are not able to cast this spell on yourself, or if you could would you have resistance but also take the damage twice? For simplicity I would limit it to casting it on another willing creature.
It also says "It also ends if the spell is cast again on either of the connected creatures" which I read as neither creatures affected by the warding bond spell can become the target of a new one - IE you can't stack warding bonds. Since its a touch spell, the caster is always one of the connected creatures - unless maybe it were cast from a Ring of Spell Storing or something like that where another creature originally cast the spell. It doesn't mean the caster just cant be the target, if a few casters were trying to stack warding bond on one creature it would just end the old spell every time a new one is cast. Regardless again for simplicities sake I feel like most DM's would say - you can only cast the spell on another willing creature and the spell also always affects self (the caster).
In general you can't stack damage resistances, the PHB section regarding damage in combat states - "Multiple instances of resistance or vulnerability that affect the same damage type count as only one instance. For example, if a creature has resistance to fire damage as well as resistance to all nonmagical damage, the damage of a nonmagical fire is reduced by half against the creature, not reduced by three-quarters."
By -1 damage, I mean with resistance take half rounded down, if you take that rounded down damage 2x you end up with -1 damage on odd damage rolls.
So yeah like you said in that 2nd part, you'd get resistance, but take the damage 2x.
The way you could cast it twice has is because of the spells "target". The target is what you touch for the touch spell. Cast first on yourself, and then on a party member, neither person was the "target" of the spell more than once.
No one in that scenario has resistance more than once from the spell so it wont really matter, unless the self caster already had resistance and now it it canceled out because you'd take all damage 2x.
It's clearly not meant to be cast on self, but as written doesn't specifically forbid it. Hope you don't run into a monster that negates resistance (such as a spellcaster with Elemental Adept); taking 200% damage from all their attacks might be a problem.
We still can't take into account things that you don't tell us.
So you have to choose. That's part of the game.
So you get slightly less damage one turn in exchange for better AC? I guess you have to choose what's more important for the single round where you need to cast SoF.
Well, it matters during the fight since you can't take short rests during a fight...
On the Material cost: You need to spend 100gp on 2 platinum rings, but they aren't destroyed when the spell is cast. The same rings can be used again for future castings, if the caster still has them. Still, 100gp IS a lot of a cash for a low-level character.
On the spell's purpose: I think this spell is best suited for escort missions, when the escorted person isn't meant to engage in the action. Cast the spell, tell them to stay close, and to use the Dodge Action every round.
Yeah, they should have put " a creature other than you" like some spells have. Looks like an oversight but doesn't seem op.
Maybe I missed something in your character description, but the spell looks like it only exists for Clerics, Peace Domain(Cleric), Oath of the Crown(Paladin), and Battle Smith(Artificer). It's not RAW on the spell lists for Sorc or Warlock.
Not that it matters as this is a simple instance of DM fiat can change that.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
divine soul sorc
Yeah, RAW, definately not on the spells list for that character.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad
Yes, it definitely is
It's a PHB cleric 2nd level spell, divine soul get access to the cleric spell list.
Am I missing something?
Nope, not at all. I did. I absolutely misread your response.
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.” - Mark Twain - Innocents Abroad