I would like explanations about the rules for loading the ring since what the DM communicated to me sounds strange to me.
1) Can I have an allied wizard charge a spell during an adventure? for example immediately before a LR or immediately before it ends? I suppose just as you can trade magical items without spending downtime during the adventure, similarly casting a spell shouldn't require any. (My DM told me that we both have to use 1 DT point)
2)if i wanted to load it through an npc service during downtime what cost (gp and Dt) should i incur? My DM told me that is the same of buying a spell scroll.
because if I cannot have it filled for free by an ally and I have to bear the cost of a scroll to fill it, why should I prefer it to use the scroll directly? (not occupying the precious magic item slot and not having the limit of 5 levels imposed by the capacity of the ring)
I would like explanations about the rules for loading the ring since what the DM communicated to me sounds strange to me.
1) Can I have an allied wizard charge a spell during an adventure? for example immediately before a LR or immediately before it ends? I suppose just as you can trade magical items without spending downtime during the adventure, similarly casting a spell shouldn't require any. (My DM told me that we both have to use 1 DT point)
2)if i wanted to load it through an npc service during downtime what cost (gp and Dt) should i incur? My DM told me that is the same of buying a spell scroll.
because if I cannot have it filled for free by an ally and I have to bear the cost of a scroll to fill it, why should I prefer it to use the scroll directly? (not occupying the precious magic item slot and not having the limit of 5 levels imposed by the capacity of the ring)
1) You can have an allied anything spellcaster charge it if there's space in the ring at any time. You don't even need to trade the item. You can wear it and have them cast it into the ring with your permission.
From DNDBeyond: "Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses."
2) If I were your DM I would only allow NPCs to load spells that are in the spellcasting services at the cost listed for those specific spellcasting services. The reason I say this is that just because someone is selling spell scrolls doesn't necessarily mean they know how to cast spells. If your DM says it's ok to pay to have those spells cast in it, then it would be OK. I guess that scenario is table specific. Just remember that if they're from a scroll that they will have the same save DC as the spell scrolls listed in the DMG. Your allied casters may have a higher DC.
Alternatively, you can use this downtime activity to
cast a spell yourself or benefit from a spell cast by
another character that is at the same table as you
without the need for resources such as spell slots, etc.
seems to me that I have to spend 1 downtime day (only me) to benefit from a spell cast from another character on the table AND he dont have to use a slot nor any component;
now about the 1st sentence: I can spend a downtime day to have an npc cast a spell for me; I have to spend just the downtime day? he dont want gp? if he want money, how much?
1) During play, at the table, another player can use a spell slot and any required components to normally cast a spell into a ring of spell storing. If one character can cast bless on another then they can just as easily cast bless into the ring. This is completely AL legal as long as the character in question uses the resources required to cast the spell and the casting is properly logged.
2) As a downtime activity you can have an NPC or PC cast a spell for you. This casting does not require resources.
"Downtime: Spellcasting Services. You can spend a downtime day to have an NPC cast a spell for you. Alternatively, you can use this downtime activity to cast a spell yourself or benefit from a spell cast by another character that is at the same table as you without the need for resources such as spell slots, etc."
However, getting an NPC to cast a spell DOES have a cost associated with the spell. See the table for spell casting services and their costs in the AL DMG
3) You can purchase a spell scroll and if you can't cast it you can have an NPC or a party member cast it for you as a downtime activity.
It is EXPENSIVE to fill a ring of spell storing using purchased scrolls. (considering a first level scroll costs 75gp by itself).
P.S. One thing to remember is that the number of spaces a spell uses in the ring is the spell slot used to cast the spell and NOT the base spell level. A first level spell like shield cast by a 9th level warlock (who only has 5h level spell slots) will take up 5 spaces in the ring because it is cast using a 5th level slot making it a 5th level spell. This makes a ring of spell storing challenging to use for a warlock unless they multiclass or have friends.
Alternatively, you can use this downtime activity to
cast a spell yourself or benefit from a spell cast by
another character that is at the same table as you
without the need for resources such as spell slots, etc.
means that during a session i could chosse if i want another player to cast a spell in my ring using resource (slot + material) or saving resource but using a downtime day of mine?
Alternatively, you can use this downtime activity to
cast a spell yourself or benefit from a spell cast by
another character that is at the same table as you
without the need for resources such as spell slots, etc.
means that during a session i could chosse if i want another player to cast a spell in my ring using resource (slot + material) or saving resource but using a downtime day of mine?
Yes. A spell can be cast into the ring using resources during play or not using resources by expending downtime. The downtime however MUST be available in the context of the module and the availability of downtime during play is entirely at the DMs discretion.
During play, all characters can cast spells on other characters. They can cast spells on any valid target. A wizard can firebolt a chair during play if they want to. This might start a fire or get the barkeep angry - the DM adjudicates the results. This is what happens during play at the table.
Characters cast spells with valid target and expend the resources required. If a wizard in your party at the table in the adventure you are currently playing is willing to expend a spell slot to cast a shield spell into your ring of spell storing then that is PERFECTLY legal in AL. Your ring now has a shield spell cast by <character>. Log it in case you don't use it during the session since the contents of the ring will span play sessions.
IF you do not want to expend resources (e.g. spell slots) AND the DM says that there is downtime available before, during or after the module that is being run (some modules this may not be possible and allowing the use of downtime during a session is entirely up to the DM) THEN you could get the character in your party to put spells in your ring WITHOUT spending resources (spell slots). That is the only difference. There is nothing preventing a character in the game from casting a spell into the ring of spell storing possessed by another character during play.
In general, the AL rules only tell you the things that aren't permitted. Otherwise, characters are allowed to do everything that their character is allowed to do in the PHB and other resources.
Can a character cast a spell? Does a character in the party possess a ring of spell storing? Can the character casting the spell see and interact with the ring sufficient to touch it while casting the spell? If all of these are true then the character can cast a spell into the ring by expending the spell slot and any other required resources. End of story. There is nothing in AL that prevents it.
I would like explanations about the rules for loading the ring since what the DM communicated to me sounds strange to me.
1) Can I have an allied wizard charge a spell during an adventure? for example immediately before a LR or immediately before it ends? I suppose just as you can trade magical items without spending downtime during the adventure, similarly casting a spell shouldn't require any. (My DM told me that we both have to use 1 DT point)
2)if i wanted to load it through an npc service during downtime what cost (gp and Dt) should i incur? My DM told me that is the same of buying a spell scroll.
because if I cannot have it filled for free by an ally and I have to bear the cost of a scroll to fill it, why should I prefer it to use the scroll directly? (not occupying the precious magic item slot and not having the limit of 5 levels imposed by the capacity of the ring)
1) You can have an allied anything spellcaster charge it if there's space in the ring at any time. You don't even need to trade the item. You can wear it and have them cast it into the ring with your permission.
From DNDBeyond: "Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses."
2) If I were your DM I would only allow NPCs to load spells that are in the spellcasting services at the cost listed for those specific spellcasting services. The reason I say this is that just because someone is selling spell scrolls doesn't necessarily mean they know how to cast spells. If your DM says it's ok to pay to have those spells cast in it, then it would be OK. I guess that scenario is table specific. Just remember that if they're from a scroll that they will have the same save DC as the spell scrolls listed in the DMG. Your allied casters may have a higher DC.
i found the source i was searching:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ABgOKmECmbiMF8u-73Yq930gexzyaMYG/view?usp=drivesdk
Downtime: Spellcasting Services. You can spend a
downtime day to have an NPC cast a spell for you.
Alternatively, you can use this downtime activity to
cast a spell yourself or benefit from a spell cast by
another character that is at the same table as you
without the need for resources such as spell slots, etc.
seems to me that I have to spend 1 downtime day (only me) to benefit from a spell cast from another character on the table AND he dont have to use a slot nor any component;
now about the 1st sentence: I can spend a downtime day to have an npc cast a spell for me; I have to spend just the downtime day? he dont want gp? if he want money, how much?
From reading that document that's what it sounds like if YOU cast the spell and it doesn't burn up the material components.
There are several ways to fill the ring ..
1) During play, at the table, another player can use a spell slot and any required components to normally cast a spell into a ring of spell storing. If one character can cast bless on another then they can just as easily cast bless into the ring. This is completely AL legal as long as the character in question uses the resources required to cast the spell and the casting is properly logged.
2) As a downtime activity you can have an NPC or PC cast a spell for you. This casting does not require resources.
"Downtime: Spellcasting Services. You can spend a downtime day to have an NPC cast a spell for you. Alternatively, you can use this downtime activity to cast a spell yourself or benefit from a spell cast by another character that is at the same table as you without the need for resources such as spell slots, etc."
However, getting an NPC to cast a spell DOES have a cost associated with the spell. See the table for spell casting services and their costs in the AL DMG
3) You can purchase a spell scroll and if you can't cast it you can have an NPC or a party member cast it for you as a downtime activity.
It is EXPENSIVE to fill a ring of spell storing using purchased scrolls. (considering a first level scroll costs 75gp by itself).
P.S. One thing to remember is that the number of spaces a spell uses in the ring is the spell slot used to cast the spell and NOT the base spell level. A first level spell like shield cast by a 9th level warlock (who only has 5h level spell slots) will take up 5 spaces in the ring because it is cast using a 5th level slot making it a 5th level spell. This makes a ring of spell storing challenging to use for a warlock unless they multiclass or have friends.
thx for oyur time;
so you think that this rule:
Alternatively, you can use this downtime activity to
cast a spell yourself or benefit from a spell cast by
another character that is at the same table as you
without the need for resources such as spell slots, etc.
means that during a session i could chosse if i want another player to cast a spell in my ring using resource (slot + material) or saving resource but using a downtime day of mine?
Yes. A spell can be cast into the ring using resources during play or not using resources by expending downtime. The downtime however MUST be available in the context of the module and the availability of downtime during play is entirely at the DMs discretion.
During play, all characters can cast spells on other characters. They can cast spells on any valid target. A wizard can firebolt a chair during play if they want to. This might start a fire or get the barkeep angry - the DM adjudicates the results. This is what happens during play at the table.
Characters cast spells with valid target and expend the resources required. If a wizard in your party at the table in the adventure you are currently playing is willing to expend a spell slot to cast a shield spell into your ring of spell storing then that is PERFECTLY legal in AL. Your ring now has a shield spell cast by <character>. Log it in case you don't use it during the session since the contents of the ring will span play sessions.
IF you do not want to expend resources (e.g. spell slots) AND the DM says that there is downtime available before, during or after the module that is being run (some modules this may not be possible and allowing the use of downtime during a session is entirely up to the DM) THEN you could get the character in your party to put spells in your ring WITHOUT spending resources (spell slots). That is the only difference. There is nothing preventing a character in the game from casting a spell into the ring of spell storing possessed by another character during play.
In general, the AL rules only tell you the things that aren't permitted. Otherwise, characters are allowed to do everything that their character is allowed to do in the PHB and other resources.
Can a character cast a spell? Does a character in the party possess a ring of spell storing? Can the character casting the spell see and interact with the ring sufficient to touch it while casting the spell? If all of these are true then the character can cast a spell into the ring by expending the spell slot and any other required resources. End of story. There is nothing in AL that prevents it.