Reading this text about Flesh Golems.... "A golem can be created with a special amulet or other item that allows the possessor of the item to control the golem," and wondering if it means the party could steal said amulet and then control the golem? Or would the original owner of the amulet have to be dead first?
Blind Obedience.When its creator or possessor is on hand to command it, a golem performs flawlessly. If the golem is left without instructions or is incapacitated, it continues to follow its last orders to the best of its ability. When it can’t fulfill its orders, a golem might react violently — or stand and do nothing. A golem that has been given conflicting orders sometimes alternates between them.
A golem can’t think or act for itself. Though it understands its commands perfectly, it has no grasp of language beyond that understanding, and can’t be reasoned with or tricked with words.
The way I read it is that controlling the amulet gives you control of the golem. There is nothing to indicate that the golem recognizes it's creator specifically, just whoever has the amulet or other totem of its creation.
I’d just add, the way I read it “can be created with a special amulet” doesn’t mean there necessarily has to be an amulet. I could see some creators seeing it as a weakness (Someone else can take control) and therefore not make any such amulet. So, you have options.
If you are the dungeon master and you don’t want the players to control the golem, say that there was no amulet. Not all golems need amulets. If you want them to control it, say it has an amulet. You are the DM, you decide.
"The golem becomes animate when the ashes of the manual are sprinkled on it. It is under your control, and it understands and obeys your spoken commands."
A flesh golem costs a staggering 50,000gp to make. Doesn't really seem worth it to me, but hey, I'm not a maniac wizard. There's no prerequisite for a controlling amulet if you use the manual.
If you want to use control items, as with a shield guardian then just include them and determine for yourself whether they are transferrable.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Reading this text about Flesh Golems.... "A golem can be created with a special amulet or other item that allows the possessor of the item to control the golem," and wondering if it means the party could steal said amulet and then control the golem? Or would the original owner of the amulet have to be dead first?
I'm a new DM. Appreciate any input.
Thanks!
The way I read it is that controlling the amulet gives you control of the golem. There is nothing to indicate that the golem recognizes it's creator specifically, just whoever has the amulet or other totem of its creation.
Thank you! Makes sense!
Side note: This should be in the Rules & Game Mechanics thread. We're not mad, just pointing it out.
Whoops, sorry!
I’d just add, the way I read it “can be created with a special amulet” doesn’t mean there necessarily has to be an amulet. I could see some creators seeing it as a weakness (Someone else can take control) and therefore not make any such amulet. So, you have options.
If you are the dungeon master and you don’t want the players to control the golem, say that there was no amulet. Not all golems need amulets. If you want them to control it, say it has an amulet. You are the DM, you decide.
To create a golem, you can use a manual of golems.
"The golem becomes animate when the ashes of the manual are sprinkled on it. It is under your control, and it understands and obeys your spoken commands."
A flesh golem costs a staggering 50,000gp to make. Doesn't really seem worth it to me, but hey, I'm not a maniac wizard. There's no prerequisite for a controlling amulet if you use the manual.
If you want to use control items, as with a shield guardian then just include them and determine for yourself whether they are transferrable.