so basically 7(2d6) is 7 times 2 rolls on the 6 dice right if that's true is that same for an hp like 84(8d10+40) if so than my little shortsword and gonna do zip pls help
Are you talking about when the books say something like, "the target takes an extra 7 (2d6) damage from the attack?" What you are seeing is NOT 7 times (2d6). What you are seeing is the average, that you can play of 7 points of damage, or if you choose to roll it out, it is 2d6. You will see this format in lots of places. Like hit points. A monster will have 84 hit points, or if you chose to roll it out you would do 8d10+40.
However, if you are asking how are you supposed to kill something with 84 hit points and it is just you and your short sword dealing 2d6 of damage, you most likely won't. I would suggest bravely running away to fight another day. Your question could use a lot of clarification if neither of these are what you are asking.
No, the parenthesis accompanying damage totals/rolls are not mathematical symbols so there is no multiplication.
What 7 (2d6) means in the 5th edition rules is that thing does 7 damage, or a roll of 2d6, depending on whether the DM wants to use the average or roll the dice.
Some DMs prefer to use static numbers, which would be the 7, while others use random numbers, which would be the 2d6. Some DMs use either for certain things, like roll everything, except for monster max hp, use the static number. I roll EVERYTHING though, that's all personal preference.
so basically 7(2d6) is 7 times 2 rolls on the 6 dice right if that's true is that same for an hp like 84(8d10+40) if so than my little shortsword and gonna do zip pls help
Are you talking about when the books say something like, "the target takes an extra 7 (2d6) damage from the attack?" What you are seeing is NOT 7 times (2d6). What you are seeing is the average, that you can play of 7 points of damage, or if you choose to roll it out, it is 2d6. You will see this format in lots of places. Like hit points. A monster will have 84 hit points, or if you chose to roll it out you would do 8d10+40.
However, if you are asking how are you supposed to kill something with 84 hit points and it is just you and your short sword dealing 2d6 of damage, you most likely won't. I would suggest bravely running away to fight another day. Your question could use a lot of clarification if neither of these are what you are asking.
Thanks!
No, the parenthesis accompanying damage totals/rolls are not mathematical symbols so there is no multiplication.
What 7 (2d6) means in the 5th edition rules is that thing does 7 damage, or a roll of 2d6, depending on whether the DM wants to use the average or roll the dice.
ty
Some DMs prefer to use static numbers, which would be the 7, while others use random numbers, which would be the 2d6. Some DMs use either for certain things, like roll everything, except for monster max hp, use the static number. I roll EVERYTHING though, that's all personal preference.
Published Subclasses