If an Iron Flask is used to capture a creature and already has a creature inside, I assume it releases the one inside? It can only contain one creature and again I assume taking the stopper off is enough to release the creature inside. Doesn't appear to be a command word to release, just to capture.
Once trapped, a creature remains in the flask until released. The flask can hold only one creature at a time. A creature trapped in the flask doesn't need to breathe, eat, or drink and doesn't age.
You can use an action to remove the flask's stopper and release the creature the flask contains.
the command word only works to trap, and only if it is empty. To release (and capture) you just have to open it. So trying to capture a different being frees the captured one.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Only a DM since 1980 (3000+ Sessions) / PhD, MS, MA / Mixed, Bi, Trans, Woman / No longer welcome in the US, apparently
Wyrlde: Adventures in the Seven Cities .-=] Lore Book | Patreon | Wyrlde YT [=-. An original Setting for 5e, a whole solar system of adventure. Ongoing updates, exclusies, more. Not Talking About It / Dubbed The Oracle in the Cult of Mythology Nerds
If an Iron Flask is used to capture a creature and already has a creature inside, I assume it releases the one inside? It can only contain one creature and again I assume taking the stopper off is enough to release the creature inside. Doesn't appear to be a command word to release, just to capture.
No it would simply fail because the flask can hold only one creature at a time and trapping a creature and releasing one each require a seperate action. Basically, you use an action to either
speak the flask's command word and target a creature
OR
remove the flask's stopper and release the creature the flask contains.
Iron Flask: You can use an action to speak the flask's command word, targeting a creature that you can see within 60 feet of you...Once trapped, a creature remains in the flask until released. The flask can hold only one creature at a time...You can use an action to remove the flask's stopper and release the creature the flask contains.
That would be my ruling I think. Unless someone casts identify, there is no way to know whether there is a creature inside. As such, when they open the flask and speak the command word, thinking they are capturing another creature, they actually release one, and then need another round/action to speak the command word again to actually capture something. What is worse? The creature that escaped, or the creature they are trying to capture.. Bearing in mind the freed creature is meant to be friendly.......... Though I don't see how something like a daemon, demon or devil would be friendly......
So, the description directly includes the tables for if something is there, and notes that there is a specific amount of time that the released are friendly…
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Only a DM since 1980 (3000+ Sessions) / PhD, MS, MA / Mixed, Bi, Trans, Woman / No longer welcome in the US, apparently
Wyrlde: Adventures in the Seven Cities .-=] Lore Book | Patreon | Wyrlde YT [=-. An original Setting for 5e, a whole solar system of adventure. Ongoing updates, exclusies, more. Not Talking About It / Dubbed The Oracle in the Cult of Mythology Nerds
I saw that. I also noted that the trapped creature if freed was friendly for an hour. I just can't see a creature from the Hells, Abyss, Gehenna etc being friendly for an hour. It makes sense to me that if there is a creature inside, and you don't know it, then when the cork is released, it would escape. There isn't any command or action that releases it, other than the brass stopper being removed. So if someone removes the brass stopper and says the command word to capture something, the capture action wouldn't work, but the creature escaping would. Seems reasonable to me.
If an Iron Flask is used to capture a creature and already has a creature inside, I assume it releases the one inside? It can only contain one creature and again I assume taking the stopper off is enough to release the creature inside. Doesn't appear to be a command word to release, just to capture.
No, it just fails.
the command word only works to trap, and only if it is empty. To release (and capture) you just have to open it. So trying to capture a different being frees the captured one.
Only a DM since 1980 (3000+ Sessions) / PhD, MS, MA / Mixed, Bi, Trans, Woman / No longer welcome in the US, apparently
Wyrlde: Adventures in the Seven Cities
.-=] Lore Book | Patreon | Wyrlde YT [=-.
An original Setting for 5e, a whole solar system of adventure. Ongoing updates, exclusies, more.
Not Talking About It / Dubbed The Oracle in the Cult of Mythology Nerds
No it would simply fail because the flask can hold only one creature at a time and trapping a creature and releasing one each require a seperate action. Basically, you use an action to either
speak the flask's command word and target a creature
OR
remove the flask's stopper and release the creature the flask contains.
That would be my ruling I think. Unless someone casts identify, there is no way to know whether there is a creature inside. As such, when they open the flask and speak the command word, thinking they are capturing another creature, they actually release one, and then need another round/action to speak the command word again to actually capture something. What is worse? The creature that escaped, or the creature they are trying to capture.. Bearing in mind the freed creature is meant to be friendly.......... Though I don't see how something like a daemon, demon or devil would be friendly......
So, the description directly includes the tables for if something is there, and notes that there is a specific amount of time that the released are friendly…
Only a DM since 1980 (3000+ Sessions) / PhD, MS, MA / Mixed, Bi, Trans, Woman / No longer welcome in the US, apparently
Wyrlde: Adventures in the Seven Cities
.-=] Lore Book | Patreon | Wyrlde YT [=-.
An original Setting for 5e, a whole solar system of adventure. Ongoing updates, exclusies, more.
Not Talking About It / Dubbed The Oracle in the Cult of Mythology Nerds
I saw that. I also noted that the trapped creature if freed was friendly for an hour. I just can't see a creature from the Hells, Abyss, Gehenna etc being friendly for an hour. It makes sense to me that if there is a creature inside, and you don't know it, then when the cork is released, it would escape. There isn't any command or action that releases it, other than the brass stopper being removed. So if someone removes the brass stopper and says the command word to capture something, the capture action wouldn't work, but the creature escaping would. Seems reasonable to me.
The iron flask's stopper has to first be removed before a creature can be released or trapped inside.