Had a strange thing come up last night, and looking for input on if my ruling was correct.
Party, fighting a Flameskull (resistance Necro) and summon a shadow (damage nercro & Strength drain). Shadow hits Flameskull for 4 points Necrotic damage and 2 points strength drain. I rule Flameskull's resistance reduces 4 damage to 2. Then the tricky part. I decided that the ability was "Damage Resistance" with no special/additional text, ability drain was not damage, and the Flaemeskull takes strength drain (1-2 drops to zero) and is dead.
Was I right?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
--
DM -- Elanon -- Homebrew world
Gronn -- Tiefling Warlock -- Amarath
Slim -- Halfling Cleric -- CoS (future Lord of Waterdeep 😁)
Had a strange thing come up last night, and looking for input on if my ruling was correct.
Party, fighting a Flameskull (resistance Necro) and summon a shadow (damage nercro & Strength drain). Shadow hits Flameskull for 4 points Necrotic damage and 2 points strength drain. I rule Flameskull's resistance reduces 4 damage to 2. Then the tricky part. I decided that the ability was "Damage Resistance" with no special/additional text, ability drain was not damage, and the Flaemeskull takes strength drain (1-2 drops to zero) and is dead.
Was I right?
--
DM -- Elanon -- Homebrew world
Gronn -- Tiefling Warlock -- Amarath
Slim -- Halfling Cleric -- CoS (future Lord of Waterdeep 😁)
Bran -- Human Wizard - RoT
Making D&D mistakes and having fun since 1977!
Indeed, the ability drain is no part of the damage:
http://www.sageadvice.eu/2016/03/08/if-a-shadow-rolls-a-critical-does-it-do-2d4-strength-damage/
Actually, your players did quite a clever thing.
Thanks Filcat!!!
I admit it was late and I was tired, but I do both a google check and a search within Sage Advice and missed that tweet.
--
DM -- Elanon -- Homebrew world
Gronn -- Tiefling Warlock -- Amarath
Slim -- Halfling Cleric -- CoS (future Lord of Waterdeep 😁)
Bran -- Human Wizard - RoT
Making D&D mistakes and having fun since 1977!