The staff of power grants access to a lot of arcane magic that a divine caster like druid would not usually have access to and mostly as level 5 spells.
I dont think there is really a problem going against the attunment restrictions, but if you allow this, will you allow the wizard to attune a staff of healing? Something to consider.
I do not know if this is the right place so please let me know if I need to move this thread.
Thinking of letting my druid (level 10) get a Staff of Power that they can attune to. Is this too powerful for a druid to have?
Has anyone else tried this or have experience with going against the attunement restriction?
I think it could be an interesting story about how the druid is able to use it. The easiest way to make it work would be to have 1 level of an arcane caster taken as multiclass, perhaps in response to receiving the Staff of Power. But there could be any number of reasons for it, and characters being able to use a weapon that not everyone can wield is an interesting story that has been told (Excalibur, Mjolnir, perhaps others), and the exceptions to the rules can sometimes make for an interesting storyline (Mjolnir in the MCU, where Vision can wield it in Age of Ultron and nobody else besides Thor. Not mentioning Endgame specifics here, but it's also an example).
If your druid has shillelagh, consider how the staff will interact with that spell. DxJxC also brings up an interesting point about staff of healing, but you should expand that thought to any equipment with an attunement restriction, since the exception for Staff of Power will give precedent for other exceptions.
I do not know if this is the right place so please let me know if I need to move this thread.
Thinking of letting my druid (level 10) get a Staff of Power that they can attune to. Is this too powerful for a druid to have?
Has anyone else tried this or have experience with going against the attunement restriction?
The staff of power grants access to a lot of arcane magic that a divine caster like druid would not usually have access to and mostly as level 5 spells.
I dont think there is really a problem going against the attunment restrictions, but if you allow this, will you allow the wizard to attune a staff of healing? Something to consider.
I think it could be an interesting story about how the druid is able to use it. The easiest way to make it work would be to have 1 level of an arcane caster taken as multiclass, perhaps in response to receiving the Staff of Power. But there could be any number of reasons for it, and characters being able to use a weapon that not everyone can wield is an interesting story that has been told (Excalibur, Mjolnir, perhaps others), and the exceptions to the rules can sometimes make for an interesting storyline (Mjolnir in the MCU, where Vision can wield it in Age of Ultron and nobody else besides Thor. Not mentioning Endgame specifics here, but it's also an example).
If your druid has shillelagh, consider how the staff will interact with that spell. DxJxC also brings up an interesting point about staff of healing, but you should expand that thought to any equipment with an attunement restriction, since the exception for Staff of Power will give precedent for other exceptions.
If you have a pretty good idea about how your player will use it and think it will be interesting, do it.