Can a non-magic user uses magical things like Rods, Wands, and Staffs?
Yes unless the item says otherwise (either directly, or in general rules for items of that type). There isn't a specific rules reference, there's just a lack of any rule that says they can't.
I can't find a rule that says that, but the fact that specific rules > general rules, and the fact that there is a specific rule stating some magic items can only have their potential tapped once attuned by a specific class, has led me to always believe that unless stated that a specific race or class is needed to attune to a specific item, any person can attune to it.
Hope this helps.
edit: actually the attunement subsection in DMG 136-138 clarifies this a bit more. Anything can be attuned by anyone unless it has a prereq, is what i get out of it.
Spell scroll rules are a bit more complicated though
Thanks for the feedback. My thinking was that when the rules say “Rods are used by wizards for...” this meant that it was for their class. Guess I was wrong.
Thanks for the feedback. My thinking was that when the rules say “Rods are used by wizards for...” this meant that it was for their class. Guess I was wrong.
Me too 🤦♂️
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Peace be with you friend.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a non-magic user uses magical things like Rods, Wands, and Staffs?
The argument my player gave me is that unless the item says “Limited to...” or “May only be attuned by...” and character can use the item.
I needs some help here. An actual rule reference would be helpful.
Yes unless the item says otherwise (either directly, or in general rules for items of that type). There isn't a specific rules reference, there's just a lack of any rule that says they can't.
Thanks for the feedback. My thinking was that when the rules say “Rods are used by wizards for...” this meant that it was for their class. Guess I was wrong.
The item should say specifically if it is limited to certain class(es).
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
Yes non magic users can use magic items.
Some will specify if they have any requirements to be attuned.
Me too 🤦♂️
Peace be with you friend.