I have a checklist of qualifiers as to if a spell could be cast without use of arms but with use of Hands. This only applies if the spell has a somatic component, verbal only is obviously allowed.
Qualifiers:
Cannot have a Material component.
GRAY AREA RULING: This does include spells that imbue weapons and objects with effects, unless the object is already in your hand, isn't too bulky, and wouldn't remove a finger (looking at you, daggers)
1) Verbal spells - no problem as long as you are not gagged. Your rules above would appear to allow only bonus action spells if you are bound - even ones with only a verbal component.
2) Spells with a material component - if the character can hold a spell casting focus or have the material component in hand then it should work. Bound hands would likely prevent a character from searching through a component pouch or pulling a spell casting focus out of a pouch. However, if they are wearing the focus around their neck or within easy reach outside on their waist, I don't see any problem with making use of a material component with bound hands since the rules only say you need to be holding it.
3) Somatic components are where the DM ruling comes in. Can a character perform a spell with somatic components with bound hands? This will vary depending on what the DM thinks the somatic components for a spell might be. Keep in mind that only one free hand is needed to perform the somatic components. If the somatic components involve arm movements then bound hands would prevent any somatic components. On the other hand, if somatic components are typically only movement of the fingers or maybe the wrist of one hand then having bound hands might not prevent the somatic component at all. Completely a DM call since specific somatic components are typically not defined.
So, the way I would tend to rule it - since I tend to think of somatic components as only finger and wrist movements.
1) If the hand are bound at the wrists allowing for free movement of the fingers then the somatic components can be performed. If they can reach a spell focus then material components are covered and if they aren't gagged then verbal components are ok. In this case, I would not impose any restrictions on spell casting.
2) If the hands are bound including the fingers - maybe the hands are wrapped in cloth then tied at the wrist and across the hands. Somatic components would not be possible. Since the hands are covered, material components would also not be possible since the character could not touch them. (there might be exceptions for a spell casting focus if it only needs to be worn not held - not sure if this might apply to a cleric or paladin holy symbol - I would need to check the rules). This would prevent spells with S,M components entirely. Add a gag and the character should be prevented from casting any spells.
I personally wouldn't put any restrictions on bonus action vs action spells since the character can either perform the components or they can't.
Anyway, that is just the perspective of another DM on how I would rule spell casting if a character's hands happened to be bound.
The Bound hands bit is why the bonus action ruling. Since the spell is faster to cast, it would make sense that the somatic component would use just the hands, since those move a hell of a lot faster than arms. also, the reason for the no material components is that this is all assuming your hands are bound behind you. I have tried grabbing and manipulating objects like that, and while it's not too hard to pick them up, I would have trouble maintaining the grip while performing some finger-wiggling with the other hand
The Bound hands bit is why the bonus action ruling. Since the spell is faster to cast, it would make sense that the somatic component would use just the hands, since those move a hell of a lot faster than arms. also, the reason for the no material components is that this is all assuming your hands are bound behind you. I have tried grabbing and manipulating objects like that, and while it's not too hard to pick them up, I would have trouble maintaining the grip while performing some finger-wiggling with the other hand
okay, but Somatic components of an action spell do not need to be more complicated than those of a bonus action spell. The difference is how long it takes for the spell to occur. So there is no reason to limit the spell to only bonus actions. If in the bindings I can perform somatic components I should be able to do those for any spell, because a firebolt might just take circling a finger 6 times counter clock wise to preform the spell, but Spiritual Weapon might need me to move my entire arm in a single circle. One of those will take longer than the other, but one that is shorter requires more work.
I agree with the whole "no material components" thing, however, if the spell is above 5th level, there should be no somatic components as well, unless the spell is an evocation.
I have a checklist of qualifiers as to if a spell could be cast without use of arms but with use of Hands. This only applies if the spell has a somatic component, verbal only is obviously allowed.
Qualifiers:
This is entirely within the realm of a DM call.
However, my take ...
1) Verbal spells - no problem as long as you are not gagged. Your rules above would appear to allow only bonus action spells if you are bound - even ones with only a verbal component.
2) Spells with a material component - if the character can hold a spell casting focus or have the material component in hand then it should work. Bound hands would likely prevent a character from searching through a component pouch or pulling a spell casting focus out of a pouch. However, if they are wearing the focus around their neck or within easy reach outside on their waist, I don't see any problem with making use of a material component with bound hands since the rules only say you need to be holding it.
3) Somatic components are where the DM ruling comes in. Can a character perform a spell with somatic components with bound hands? This will vary depending on what the DM thinks the somatic components for a spell might be. Keep in mind that only one free hand is needed to perform the somatic components. If the somatic components involve arm movements then bound hands would prevent any somatic components. On the other hand, if somatic components are typically only movement of the fingers or maybe the wrist of one hand then having bound hands might not prevent the somatic component at all. Completely a DM call since specific somatic components are typically not defined.
So, the way I would tend to rule it - since I tend to think of somatic components as only finger and wrist movements.
1) If the hand are bound at the wrists allowing for free movement of the fingers then the somatic components can be performed. If they can reach a spell focus then material components are covered and if they aren't gagged then verbal components are ok. In this case, I would not impose any restrictions on spell casting.
2) If the hands are bound including the fingers - maybe the hands are wrapped in cloth then tied at the wrist and across the hands. Somatic components would not be possible. Since the hands are covered, material components would also not be possible since the character could not touch them. (there might be exceptions for a spell casting focus if it only needs to be worn not held - not sure if this might apply to a cleric or paladin holy symbol - I would need to check the rules). This would prevent spells with S,M components entirely. Add a gag and the character should be prevented from casting any spells.
I personally wouldn't put any restrictions on bonus action vs action spells since the character can either perform the components or they can't.
Anyway, that is just the perspective of another DM on how I would rule spell casting if a character's hands happened to be bound.
The Bound hands bit is why the bonus action ruling. Since the spell is faster to cast, it would make sense that the somatic component would use just the hands, since those move a hell of a lot faster than arms. also, the reason for the no material components is that this is all assuming your hands are bound behind you. I have tried grabbing and manipulating objects like that, and while it's not too hard to pick them up, I would have trouble maintaining the grip while performing some finger-wiggling with the other hand
okay, but Somatic components of an action spell do not need to be more complicated than those of a bonus action spell. The difference is how long it takes for the spell to occur. So there is no reason to limit the spell to only bonus actions. If in the bindings I can perform somatic components I should be able to do those for any spell, because a firebolt might just take circling a finger 6 times counter clock wise to preform the spell, but Spiritual Weapon might need me to move my entire arm in a single circle. One of those will take longer than the other, but one that is shorter requires more work.
So as David said, it is all down to the DM.
I agree with the whole "no material components" thing, however, if the spell is above 5th level, there should be no somatic components as well, unless the spell is an evocation.
But that is for the DM to decide!
every table is a little different!
I see no reason to disallow an action verbal only spell, such as Faeri Fire or Cause Fear.