I had a question about reckless attacks and opportunity attacks. It's a situation that came up in my last game:
The barbarian used reckless attack on an opponent and then moved to attack a different adversary. The first opponent took an attack of opportunity when the barbarian moved away. Do attacks of opportunity get advantage against barbarians using reckless attack? The player didn't think so, and rather than stop the game to look up a rule, I decided to roll with his interpretation. But I needed to clarify for future games.
Yes. From the moment that Reckless Attack is triggered, all attacks against the Barbarian have advantage until the Barbarian's next turn, including attacks of opportunity.
Yes the attack against the barbarian should have been made with advantage.
also, when the barbarians reckless attacks their own advantage on Attack rolls ends on their turn. So they wouldn’t have advantage on opportunity attacks they make on another creatures turn, at least not from the reckless attack feature.
Hi all,
I had a question about reckless attacks and opportunity attacks. It's a situation that came up in my last game:
The barbarian used reckless attack on an opponent and then moved to attack a different adversary. The first opponent took an attack of opportunity when the barbarian moved away. Do attacks of opportunity get advantage against barbarians using reckless attack? The player didn't think so, and rather than stop the game to look up a rule, I decided to roll with his interpretation. But I needed to clarify for future games.
Many thanks!
Jsteppern
Yes. From the moment that Reckless Attack is triggered, all attacks against the Barbarian have advantage until the Barbarian's next turn, including attacks of opportunity.
Seems pretty straightforward.
Yes the attack against the barbarian should have been made with advantage.
also, when the barbarians reckless attacks their own advantage on Attack rolls ends on their turn. So they wouldn’t have advantage on opportunity attacks they make on another creatures turn, at least not from the reckless attack feature.
Great, thanks for the replies everyone- very helpful!