Hi all, I need a ruling. Do GWM and PAM stack? Right now He rages (+3 dmg), does his GWM attacks and then hits with the blunt end as a bonus action (should be 1d4+STR mod) its a +1 halberd, but the app still says 1d4+4 damage. Add in rage and thats 1d4+7 maximum. can he add the +10 dmg from GWM too if he takes the -5 to hit?.
Nothing about the bonus action d4 attack is different from the "business end" of the weapon, other than the damage dice (d4) and damage type (blunt). The weapon otherwise still has the same properties, including Reach and Heavy, and all that goes along with that.
Dndbeyond does have a hard time recognizing the bonus action attack as being the same weapon, so it might not be adding the +1 magic bonus correctly. You can customize the attack to correct that.
Yeah I noticed that, so 1d4+8 while raging (+4 STR, +3 Rage, +1 Weapon)
Reading over the GWM and PAM Feats, I see both are also Bonus actions, so can't use both in the same turn. Caveat is that when the GWM attack crits or kills, they get an extra bonus action, but why waste on a d4 attack when they can do a full weapon attack?
If you crit or kill an enemy, yes, you’d probably want to do the GWM bonus attack instead of the PAM bonus attack. But the PAM bonus attack is always available every round, and is eligible to benefit from the -5 to hit/+10 damage of GWM, and PAM also provides you the opportunity attack benefit as well.
I suggest taking PAM first as you level up, and leaving GWM until level 8 or 12, ideally after your Str is 20 and -5 to hit isnt such a big chunk of your to hit bonus any longer. It’s really more of a fighter combo than a Barbarian combo, until very late game for Barbarian.
its a +1 halberd, but the app still says 1d4+4 damage.
I just want to quickly address this (though it has been worked out). It is a technical limitation. The bonus action created by the feat doesn't have a way to check for applicable weapons, then apply all modifiers on that weapon. Maybe someday.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all, I need a ruling. Do GWM and PAM stack? Right now He rages (+3 dmg), does his GWM attacks and then hits with the blunt end as a bonus action (should be 1d4+STR mod) its a +1 halberd, but the app still says 1d4+4 damage. Add in rage and thats 1d4+7 maximum. can he add the +10 dmg from GWM too if he takes the -5 to hit?.
Nothing about the bonus action d4 attack is different from the "business end" of the weapon, other than the damage dice (d4) and damage type (blunt). The weapon otherwise still has the same properties, including Reach and Heavy, and all that goes along with that.
Dndbeyond does have a hard time recognizing the bonus action attack as being the same weapon, so it might not be adding the +1 magic bonus correctly. You can customize the attack to correct that.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Yeah I noticed that, so 1d4+8 while raging (+4 STR, +3 Rage, +1 Weapon)
Reading over the GWM and PAM Feats, I see both are also Bonus actions, so can't use both in the same turn. Caveat is that when the GWM attack crits or kills, they get an extra bonus action, but why waste on a d4 attack when they can do a full weapon attack?
Thanks for the input.
If you crit or kill an enemy, yes, you’d probably want to do the GWM bonus attack instead of the PAM bonus attack. But the PAM bonus attack is always available every round, and is eligible to benefit from the -5 to hit/+10 damage of GWM, and PAM also provides you the opportunity attack benefit as well.
I suggest taking PAM first as you level up, and leaving GWM until level 8 or 12, ideally after your Str is 20 and -5 to hit isnt such a big chunk of your to hit bonus any longer. It’s really more of a fighter combo than a Barbarian combo, until very late game for Barbarian.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
The only way to counter what you describe is to pay very careful attention to the Action Economy. But I think you have figured that out.
I agree with CC, the blunt end still has all the same properties and modifiers of the business end, only the damage die and type change.
I just want to quickly address this (though it has been worked out). It is a technical limitation. The bonus action created by the feat doesn't have a way to check for applicable weapons, then apply all modifiers on that weapon. Maybe someday.